Morning Buns

morning bun

Morning Buns are cinnamon rolls on crack. Why? Because they are made with croissant dough. Once the dough is rolled out, instead of cutting it into triangles for croissants, it is brushed with an egg and then sprinkled with a brown sugar-cinnamon mixture. The dough is then rolled up, cut into circles, and placed in a buttered muffin tin for proofing.  When they come out the oven, they are immediately rolled in sugar.

imgp4730

Morning Buns are out-of-this-world delicious. If you love cinnamon rolls and croissants, these are a great marriage of the two.  The recipe comes from The Art & Soul of Baking. The only “problem” is that it uses a 1/2 recipe of croissant dough, so you need to think of a use for the other half. 😛 I used my other half for pigs-in-a-blanket.

Morning Buns

From The Art & Soul of Baking
  • 1/2 recipe (about 1 1/2 pounds)  Croissant Dough
  • 1 large egg, lightly whisked
  • 2/3 cup (5 1/4 ounces) of firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
  1. Roll dough into an 18 by 11 by 1/4 inch rectangle on a lightly floured surface.  Position the dough with a long side parallel to the edge of your work surface. Sweep off any flour on the surface  and then brush the entire surface of the dough lightly with the egg.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle evenly over dough, leaving a 1-inch border along the long edge furthest from you.
  3. Beginning with the side closest to you, roll the dough into a tight cylinder. Finish rolling the dough onto the border. Pinch all along the seam to seal it. Cut the cylinder into 12 equal pieces. Place each in a generously buttered muffin tin, cut side up.
  4. Cover the pan loosely with plastic wrap and allow the buns to rise in a cool room-temperature spot until they have doubled in size–45 to 60 minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375 F with a rack in the center. Chill the buns in the freezer for 10 minutes or the refrigerator for 15 minutes. Bake for 25 minutes, or until the buns are a deep golden brown.
  6. Place granulated sugar in medium bowl. Using tongs, gently remove buns from tin and roll in sugar making sure to coat all sides. Then transfer to a silicone mat or parchment paper to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

imgp47911

I’m submitting this to Yeastspotting, a weekly round-up of yeasted goods and bread.

30 thoughts on “Morning Buns

  1. These might actually be illegal in some states. No matter, I’ll travel anywhere for one of these. They look beyond incredible. I really need to get brave and try croissant dough. It is killing me to just read about all of the incredible things that you are doing with yours!

  2. My god!! You’re killing me over here- I love morning buns! The best ones I ever had were from a grocery store (believe it or not) in Oakland… they’re impossible to find up here, but now that I’ve conquered my laminated dough fear, I just might have to make some!

  3. PS This is so unfair. Now I have to make croissant dough in order to make these fabulous looking things? The time involved is the only reason why I’m not leaving work early in order to make these. They look to-die-for!

  4. I want these sooo badly right now. Have been craving these actually. Now can you come over and teach me how to make croissant dough – it is so intimidating and you are quite the pro.

  5. Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh. I’ve been waiting for these! Waiting so anxiously. These look even better than the morning buns at La Farine. How delicious!! Mmm, I want one right now.

  6. You American bakers are so inspiring – thank you from here in rainy England! We just don’t produce anything like this over here – but were lucky enough to eat Morning Buns at Tartine’s in San Francisco last year (on Susan ‘Wild Yeast’ recommendation). What a wonderful bakery! What a great city! Barry (10 miles south west of Bath).

  7. Sigh – can I have one with my coffee?

    Just yesterday, I asked my mother if she would help me make croissants from “The Art & Soul of Baking”. I figure I’d better call in reinforcements!

  8. Oh, wow. I have half a batch of croissant dough in my freezer right now. I think I’m going to have to make these for Easter. And try not to eat them all myself… =)

  9. I get laminated dough (with butter) at Trader Joe’s. It comes in a 1# or 500 g. pkg., in 2 sheets. Can you tell me how thin to roll the dough?

  10. Looks so beautiful!!! I was trying to find the recipe for the croissant dough…she does not post the recipe…is it possible to post it on your site?…I would love to try this recipe this weekend…thanks so much!!

  11. I first tried these at the Farmers Market in Whitefish, Mt. The first time
    I bought one, the second time a doz. She sells out fast, but is only in this
    Area in the summer time. They are to die for. A little bit of heaven

Leave a comment