Southwestern Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad

spsalad2

The past few weeks I’ve been on a sweet potato salad kick. This week marks my 3rd week in a row making one. Last week I mentioned finding this recipe on Mark Bittman’s website, that it sounded delicious, and that I would make it in a couple of weeks. Well, I couldn’t wait–I made it this week.

In this salad, unlike the others I made,  the sweet potatoes are relegated to a supporting role. However, it doesn’t mean the salad is any less delicious. In addition to the sweet potatoes and quinoa the salad has: avocado, toasted pepitas, red onion, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper (my addition). It’s all dressed in a lime vinaigrette, spiced with chili powder, and flavored with cilantro. It’s a great vegan recipe, packs a punch, and is immensely satisfying.

Although I found the recipe online, it’s also in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I think you should all run out and make this as soon as possible.

You can find the recipe HERE. I want to try the original version and then try the suggested millet. YUM!

spsalad

21 thoughts on “Southwestern Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad

  1. I love how colorful this dish looks! I’ve not been adventurous enough to try quinoa yet but I’m intrigued by the dish because I do love a lot of the other ingredients!

  2. I do not think I could ever get sick of quinoa especially during summer as a quick and easy meal. I am so happy to see advocados to because they make me ubber happy.

    Awesome job!

  3. Indeed I made it today and used that cup of quinoa. I changed it quite a bit but used a majority of the idea. I will post it if the little bit that is left doesnt get gobbled up first. My Mom loved it so much that she said we ought to have it at Thanksgiving. I have not sold my kids on salad yet. I am trying.

Leave a Reply

