Chipotle-Cheddar Biscuits

chipotle-cheddar

Okay. When I decided to bake these biscuits, I wasn’t intending to post about these. But They.Are.So.Delicious and I now feel it is my dharmic destiny to share this knowledge with you. They are something you might skip over and not bake. They are something I would skip over too. I’m urging you to run out and get the ingredients and make these. Immediately.

The recipe is from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking. And if you have the cookbook you can see why you would skip over these when there are amazing and delectable things such as: The Baked Brownies or Root Beer Cake or Peanut Butter Crispy Bars or Lemon Drop Cake or…..

The only reason I made these biscuits is because when I get a new cookbook and I can’t make up my mind about which recipe to try first,  I start from the beginning and bake my way forward.  The Chipotle-Cheddar Biscuits just happened to be the next recipe in the book.

The biscuits are smokey and spicy and cheesey and easy to make. The only problem I had (other than eating too many) was that they flattened out inthe oven instead of rising like biscuits normally do. It may have been the cheese. The recipe calls for 2 cups of  “tightly” packed grated cheese. I may have packed my cups  too tightly with cheese, but who cares? They were delicious.

You can find the recipe HERE or on page 35  in the book.

20 thoughts on “Chipotle-Cheddar Biscuits

  1. Ohh these look and sound amazing! I think I need to get that book. And I had to laugh because I do the same thing when undecided on what to make from a book, start at the beginning🙂

  2. I just can’t buy another cookbook – especially a baking book – but everything I’ve seen from the “Baked” book looks amazing, and the one thing I’ve made was fantastic (the brownies!) These biscuits would be perfect for brunch or dinner, given how much I cook with Mexican flavors. I’m GLAD you decided to blog about this recipe.

  3. It’s funny. I didn’t even notice these in Baked. I am going to have to go back and look them up. They sound and look wonderful. The first thing I made was the Root Beer Cake and wow, it was delicious.
    I was thinking of joining you this week for Vegan Tuesdays, well posting on Wed. since I made a couple of recipes from Veganomicon. I don’t know if I can join you every week- I’ve been in a little over my head with blogging groups, but I am going to do it this week. If that is ok? Hopefully I will be able to join you. I will have to see.

  4. These biscuits look great, and even better that they were a surprise! If I can’t decide what to make in a cookbook, I usually put it away to gather dust, so you treat your cookbooks way better than me. I have toyed with buying this book – I am even more sorely tempted now (despite the huge no. of books I already own!!).

  5. I love Baked, just love it! I hadn’t thought to try any savory recipe from the book, but your picture and description has me totally craving these biscuits. They look awesome, like pure bliss. Great job!! You’ve convinced me that I need to make these ASAP.

Leave a Reply

