What do you know? It’s another Vegan Tuesday.

tomatoey spiced chickpeas

I went out Monday night after work for a celebration at a pub. It was a blast, of course, but I got home much too late to make my Vegan Tuesday food. Luckily, the recipe I chose to make this week was very quick and easy. It’s from the March 2009 issue of Gourmet magazine–Tomatoey Spiced Chickpeas.

I made it before I went to work on Tuesday and packed it up for lunch and then had it again for dinner. I served it with bulgur because it takes no time to make. Just pour boiling water and let sit. I also roasted some asparagus and cashews, which lately seems to be my go-to veggie side. YUM. Once again, all before work and I wasn’t late.

For dessert I made the Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies out of Veganomicon. Although this recipe is also quick and easy, I baked them earlier in the week. I can’t make two quick and easy recipes before work and still make it on time.😛 I subbed  1/2 cup of the oatmeal with 9-grain cereal and 1/2 cup of the raisins with dried cranberries. Very delicious.

Vegan Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Recipes

Tomatoey Spiced Chickpeas

Chewy Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies

11 thoughts on “What do you know? It’s another Vegan Tuesday.

  1. I can’t wait to try the chickpeas! Thanks for including a link to the recipe (I didn’t see it at first as I was reading your post in Reader) and tried searching for it on Gourmet.com. Couldn’t find it, so I was thrilled when you linked to it.

  2. These both look so good! Especially the chickpeas. I love those little things.
    I actually had a vegan tuesday yesterday too. Thanks for the inspiration. I made the Cauliflower and Red Lentil Curry and Poppyseed Cornmeal Roti from Veganomicon. Delish! This really is a great idea.

  3. I love when you do vegan Tuesdays. Do you do it with other people, or is it exclusive to your blog? This meal looks lovely!

    I made the most amazing and EASY yogurt pie last night. I’ll blog about it later today. I think you may like the recipe.

  4. Yum! Both of these sound totally delicious. I’m a HUGE chick pea fan. I love them any which way. And of course, oatmeal raisin cookies are a classic. Delish!

  5. Everything on this post looks scrumptious! I’m impressed that you subbed the cereal for oats; I’ll have to remember that. I’ve been putting 10 grain cereal in bread lately – sooo good.

    My daughter was just home for nearly 2 weeks on her spring break and we cooked lots of vegan food. In fact, we gave her Veganomicon as a birthday present (along with Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian).

Leave a Reply

