{twd} chipster topped brownies topped with gelato

giandujaicecream3

A brownie topped with a chocolate chip cookie. How more decadent can it get? Add Gianduja Gelato!

This week’s Tuesdays With Dorie, Chipster Topped Brownies, are brownies baked with a layer of chocolate chip cookie dough on top. In my case, instead of chocolate chips, I added the mini peanut butter cups they sell at Trader Joes.

I made the brownies for a Memorial Day BBQ at my brother’s house. For some reason, my timing was off and these came out of the oven just as I should have been getting ready to leave my house.  Ever since I’ve started this baking/cooking thing, I’ve started arriving late to parties. And it’s not just the baking, it’s the rushing around taking pictures of what I baked because it’s my only chance before I give it away.

I dumped the still warm brownies out of the pan and cut it into squares. I don’t know if the slices would have been prettier if I had let the brownies cool, but I’m going with that story. In the end, it doesn’t matter that they weren’t the neatest squares–people gobbled them up.

And, of course, I brought ice cream. This week I made Gianduja Gelato from The Perfect Scoop. It’s a hazelnut-milk chocolate bit of heaven. You can find the recipe HERE. To all my friends with ice cream makers: make this the next time you make ice cream.

Thank you to Beth of Supplicious for picking this recipe as we bake our way through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours. It was a great choice! If you would like the recipe please visit her blog.

chipsterbrownie