{SMS} Lemon Icebox Cake with Fresh Blackberry Sauce

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Moms out there! I hope you have a good one.

lemon-icebox

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays selection is a Lemon Icebox Cake with Fresh Strawberry Sauce. I’ve never made an icebox cake, which seems to me (correct me if I’m wrong) to be frozen custard with a meringue topping and a vanilla wafer crust. You separate the eggs, cook the yolks with sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Pour it into the crust. Whip the egg whites and place them on top of the custard base and bake in the oven for a few minutes.  Once cooled to room temperature you place in the freezer. When ready to serve you take it out of the freezer and  top it with the strawberry sauce, or in my case, blackberry sauce.

lemon-icebox-2

Jennifer of Keep Passing the Open Windows chose this delicious recipe. Give it a try and visit her blog for the reicpe.