Vegan Bacon-Cheddar Burger with Sautéed Mushrooms

veggieburger

I made my own bacon! Okay, it was Tempeh Bacon and it didn’t really require much work. Just slice the tempeh, rub it with crushed garlic, and marinate it in a mixture of soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, and tomato paste. The recipe comes from  Vegan with a Vengeance and you can find it HERE.

I just sautéed the mushrooms in olive oil and cheese comes from Vegan Gourmet. It says it melts, but I haven’t actually witnessed that yet.

The Veggie Burger is also a recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance and uses TVP (textured vegetable protein), which I’ve never used before. TVP is dehydrated, defatted soy protein. Using it helps create a ground-meat texture. In addition to the TVP, the burger also has finely chopped onions, carrots, and mushrooms.

My dessert for Vegan Tuesday was that monstrosity you see in the post below. I didn’t use butter, just oil.

Go over to Veggie Num Nums and see the Barley Soup with Grilled Bread and Tomatoes Michele made for Vegan Tuesdays.

{db} strudel

strudel3

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

strudel2

I had decided not to make this month’s challenge. I had too many things going on both in the baking/blogging world and the real world.  So, of course, shortly after I publicly announce I’m not going to participate this month I go ahead and make it.

strudel4

The strudel was easier than I thought it would be. The instructions were a little intimidating. All the stretching and pulling and holes. I made a 1/4 of the recipe and instead of the traditional apple filling I used fresh blueberries and cherries.

strudel

The end result? It looks horrible. My strudel reminds me of Necron Slime. I don’t know what Necron Slime is exactly–just something from a cartoon I vaguely remember from childhood.  I now think my strudel looks like a psychedelic sea cucumber. I think it fits my baked strudel.

strudel5

Update: I also realize I over-stuffed it, which is a problem with me and burritos. Now that I know how to do it right. I’m definitely making again.