{sms} Guinness Gingerbread and Ice Cream

gingerbread

This week’s Sweet Melissa Sundays selection is Guinness Gingerbread. I made a half recipe and baked it in an 8×8-inch pan. The recipe also said to simmer the Guiness in a saucepan. I didn’t do it because I didn’t want to dirty another pan. I don’t know if it affected the outcome.The gingerbread tasted great. Not as good as the Fresh Ginger & Chocolate Gingerbread I made in January, but it was good.

I decided to make Guinness-Milk Chocolate Ice Cream from The Perfect Scoop this week. In high school, I had to read John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row. One thing I always remember from the book is beer milkshakes. We giggled over that in class. Anyway, this ice cream makes me think of beer milkshakes and Cannery Row.You can find the recipe for the ice cream HERE.

Thank you to Katie of Katiecakes for selecting this delicious recipe as we bake our way through The Sweet Melissa Baking Book. Please visit her blog for the recipe.

guin ice cream

30 thoughts on “{sms} Guinness Gingerbread and Ice Cream

  1. Love the gingerbread + ice cream combo. We were on the same page this week (well different book for the ice cream, I guess!) Now that I know the wonders of beer ice cream I’ll have to try your recipe…

  2. Your version looks awesome! I think you did a great job by pairing the gingerbread with the ice cream, I bet it added a nice creamy touch while highlighting the beer undertones.
    Photos look great 🙂

  3. The gingerbread and ice cream look great together! I had a Guinness Milkshake at a pub once and it was interesting, to be sure. I like Guinness, but it tasted like a dirt milkshake. But Guiness and ch0colate ice cream sounds much better.

  4. Oh! Boy… this must be soooo good! …gingerbread’s always a winner with me, so made with Guiness and served with ice cream on top of it… wow. What a snack!

  5. You know, I’ve been wanting to make that ice cream since I borrowed the book from the library last summer. Thanks for reminding me!! The cake looks super moist and the ice cream…YUM!

  6. I adore gingerbread! Can’t wait to try the one with fresh ginger…it reminds me of the Martha Stewart cookies called Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies that are out of this world amazing! Chocolate and ginger, my two favorite flavors, wrapped up in one delicious package. Yum. Also, your tart failure post reminds me of my chocolate “failure cupcakes”, a post I never got around to publishing. You may have inspired me to get it out there!

  7. Your ice cream was a brilliant addition to this week’s SMS, and your gingerbread seems to have turned out beautifully! Great job. Sorry that I’ve been an absent commenter; I just finished up my law school exams and am finally getting around to my google reader.

Leave a comment