An Asparagus and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata Sandwich

Asparagus and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata

I bought another cookbook: Vegan with a Vengeance. It’s by the same person who wrote Veganomicon. I bought it because of this–Asparagus and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata–recipe. I was at the bookstore, flipping through  cookbooks and I saw the recipe. It sounded delicious and I actually had all the ingredients.

vegan sandwich

I decided to make it into a sandwich because earlier in the week a made a loaf of Light Wheat Bread from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. In anticipation (I’m good), I veganized the bread recipe because I knew I would want a sandwich on Vegan Tuesday. Instead of powdered milk, I used powdered soy milk. I also made sure to use shortening and sugar, instead of butter and honey.  You can find the recipe for the bread at Smitten Kitchen, HERE.

Asparagus and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata

From Vegan with a Vengeance.
  • 1 pound extra-firm tofu, drained
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon mustard
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 5 stalks asparagus, trimmed and cut into one inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, torn into pieces

Preheat oven to 400° F.

Using your fingers, crumble and squeeze  tofu into a bowl until it resembles ricotta cheese. Stir in soy sauce and mustard. Add nutritional yeast and mix well.

In an 8-inch oven-proof skillet, sauté onions in olive oil until soft about 2 minutes. Add asparagus and tomatoes and cook for 3 minutes. Add garlic, thyme, and turmeric, sauté for one minute. Add lemon juice to deglaze pan and remove from heat. Add contents to tofu mixture and stir to blend.  Fold in basil leaves.

Transfer combined mixture to skillet and press firmly into pan. Place skillet in oven and cook for 20 minutes. Transfer to broiler to brown top,  about 2 minutes.Watch it closely! You don’t want it to burn.

Let frittata sit for 10 minutes prior to serving.

Serves 4.

Vegan Frittata Sandwich

Check out Veggie Num Num‘s Vegan Tuesday HERE.

19 thoughts on “An Asparagus and Sun-dried Tomato Frittata Sandwich

  1. Whoa, that looks good. I made the light wheat bread a little while ago, and it was definitely worth it. And frittatas are always a wonderful thing (I might make mine non-vegan though).

  2. Mmmmm! I’m always stoked when I see well-flavored, well-seasoned vegan food!!
    Curious, could you taste the tumeric, or is it likely there to provide a yellowish “eggy” color??

  3. I love the versatility of a fritata. You can have it for brrakfast, lunch or dinner and make great use of leftovers with them. This one looks awesome.

  4. Okay, I LOVE that cookbook. A girl I used to work with let me borrow it once, and I seriously thought about not giving it back. This frittata sandwich looks amazing!!

  5. Hee hee. When I was little the only way I would TOUCH scrambled eggs was in a sandwich (white bread and lots of ketchup). I don’t mind them as much now, but this is definitely the grown-up, gourmet version! I haven’t had much luck with frittatas, so maybe this will turn things around (and this is one of my favorite flavors combos for risotto!)

  6. Wow – it looks so healthy. Like you could run a marathon after eating that.

    Ha ha – I just realized that you DID run a marathon last weekend!

  7. Love asparagus. Love sun dried tomatoes. That fritata looks so good. In fact, the only thing that looks better is that sandwich! That bread sounds amazing.

  8. I love the idea of a frittata sandwich! I’ve seen tofu subbed for eggs a few times now and will definitely have to try it – I actually really like tofu!

  9. Duhhhhh… (if you can imagine the sound Homer makes in front of a doughnut, then you can imagine me!) lol

    Anytime you want me over for lunch… I’m available ya know! LOL

  10. Ok, I think I am in love – I just have to make this. I am a sun dried fanatic. I think it will make the menu this week. I enjoy your vegan posts so much because I can eat them! Where do you get soy milk powder?

Leave a Reply

