Ciabatta al Funghi

I have had problems pronouncing ciabatta. No matter how many times people have told me the right pronounciation, I always said it wrong the first time it comes out of my mouth. I always wanted to pronounce the “i”–saying chee-a-bah-tah instead of cha-bah-tah.

One of the bonus benefits of baking along with a group like The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge is tweeting about our bread. I’ve previously mentioned learning how to spell international words and I can now proudly announce that I can correctly pronounce ciabatta. By tweeting so much about it, I’ve said it in my head so many times. Practice makes perfect.

Last September I made the poolish version of ciabatta out of The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. You can see it HERE. I hesitated linking to my post about it. A lot has changed in a year. One is that my ciabatta now has holes! Not big massive holes, but there are holes. The other, as you know, is I will not be celebrating my anniversary this year. And if I want to get metaphorical like I did with my previous attempt at ciabatta, there were things obviously wrong with both my ciabatta and my marriage.

Back to the bread…this time around I decided to make the biga version and the Wild Mushroom (Ciabatta al Funghi) variation. This variation uses a mix of dried and fresh mushrooms. For the dried mushrooms, I used Trader Joe’s Mixed Wild Mushroom Medley which has: porcini, shiitake, black, and oyster mushrooms. I used cremini mushrooms for the fresh. The formula says to use a pound, but when I went shopping I mistakenly only bought a half a pound.

The dried mushrooms are rehydrated and added during the dough mixing-phase and the fresh mushrooms are sautéd with garlic in olive oil and added during the two stretch-and-fold turns.

Instead of shaping standard-sized ciabatta, I made twelve mini-ciabatta. The bread is incredibly creamy. It melts in my mouth. Every other bite, I’m hit with the taste of garlic. The bread tastes great plain, but it also makes a wonderful sandwich.

27 thoughts on “Ciabatta al Funghi

  1. That ciabatta sounds so delicious with the mushrooms! I didn’t know how to pronounce ciabatta properly either so thanks for the lesson 🙂

  2. Just reading your post from last September – what a difference! Not metaphorically speaking, of course, but you know what I mean. The bread looks fabulous, really, I need you to give bread making lessons to me!!

  3. Now I want to make this more than ever. And thanks for the heads-up about TJs. I always forget to look there for things like dried mushrooms…until someone mentions them in a blog post, that is!

    (Oh, and I hope you’ll celebrate your ciabatta milestones with us now, if that helps…I know we’ll like it!)

  4. Great job making 12 little ciabatta’s, and learning to pronounce them too. Now you’ll have enough for lots of lunches, unless you share, of course! I’m also glad you share your baking and cooking experiences with us in the Twitterverse as well as in the Blogisphere. Thanks for linking your previous post; it was hard I’m sure, all of it, but hang in there. We’re pulling for you.

  5. Those look wonderful–great holes! I don’t know if I’ll get to this variation right now, but I want to at some point. I love mushrooms. I love ciabatta rolls for sandwiches. Yum.

  6. Wow, what a difference a year makes. I am sure you have grown over this past year, much like the holes in your bread have grown.

    Very beautiful ciabatta. I will try garlic and mushrooms next time. That flavor combo sounds unbeatable.

  7. Those loaves look perfect! Awesome job and much improved from last year’s picture.

    I can’t wait to make some ciabatta from this book, we have some 00 flour leftover from pizza making that I want to use 🙂

  8. Your chee-a-battah bread looks delicious. I love making it and sometimes I even get the holes. But with the mushrooms. Wow!!!

  9. When I was little, I used to say if I was stranded on a desert island I would want to at least find mushrooms to eat!!!

    And I still love them… so c’mon, ain’t that the best mushroom in the most comfort food of all time, bread! YUM!

Leave a comment