{twd} quick classic berry tart

Ugh. I have a severe case of blog apathy and writer’s block. These days it seems the only new post I can write is the one for Tuesdays with Dorie. I’m baking and cooking. Sometimes taking pictures, sometimes not. Some are incredibly delicious and I want to share–like Pot-Roasted Eggplant with Tomatoes and Cumin (you need to make this) from the May 2010 issue of Food & Wine. Some are for other baking groups.

Anyway, thanks to Cristine of Cooking with Cristine for hosting this week’s recipe– Quick Classic Berry Tart. I made it for Mother’s Day. It’s a simple tart with vanilla pastry cream topped with fresh berries ( I used strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, and some jarred cherries). It was very delicious and a big hit with the family. I can see myself making a tropical version in the near future with rum pastry cream and pineapple, mango and kiwi. YUM.

For the recipe, visit Cristine’s blog or buy the book.

30 thoughts on “{twd} quick classic berry tart

  1. I second that.. the tropical version sounds divine.

    Don’t worry about the writer’s block anyway, we all face that along the way. It will pass. *beams*

  2. I am glad I am not the only one who suffers from “Can’t think of a witty comment for my TWD post” syndrome :)…your dessert looks great.

  3. Sometimes things just don’t need too many words, like your picture perfect looking tart!
    I made two mini tarts and one was fresh pineapple, but I didn’t even think to go tropical with it. Great idea.

  4. Beautiful tart. This would adapt to so many different fruits. The tropical sounds like a great idea. Maybe with some coconut milk in the pastry cream?? Now I know I want to try anothr one.

  5. You don’t need any words for this post…that picture of your gorgeous tart with the fantastic assortment of fruit says it all. Beautiful job!

  6. Looks lovely with its glossy berries. The tropical version actually sounds even better.

    Ugh, I know exactly how you feel. Besides being super busy I’ve been struggling with the whole blogging thing a lot.
    ~ingrid

Leave a comment