{twd} sweet potato biscuits

This is my ONE non-pumpkin recipe during Pumpkin Week. I’m sure I could have used pumpkin instead of sweet potato like some other Tuesdays with Dorie bakers, but I heart sweet potato and have never baked with it (well, other than the obvious baked sweet potato.)

These were okay. They had a great sweet potato taste–I used Trader Joes organic sweet potato puree–but I felt they needed a bit more spice. The recipe calls for only a pinch of cinnamon.

Every since I read that Sweet Potato Biscuits were the pick for this week, I’ve been wanting to make a shortcake with them. And that’s what I did. I made Buttermilk Ice Cream using a recipe from the October 2009 issue of Bon Appetit and swirled it with a white chocolate-peanut butter ganache (leftover from a cake I made for my niece’s 7th birthday) and chunks of peanut-sesame crunch (from the same cake, which I will write up sometime in the near future). I did Tweet about both the cake and ice cream.

Buttermilk Ice Cream

From Bon Appetit, October 2009
  • 2 cups  whole milk
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup cream
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk

Combine all ingredients and stir until sugar dissolves. Chill in refrigerator for a couple hours. Churn in ice cream maker and transfer to container. Freeze until firm, at least 6 hours.

Thanks to Erin of Prudence Pennywise for hosting this week. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

49 thoughts on “{twd} sweet potato biscuits

  1. You never cease to amaze me with your creations. I never, in a million years would have thought to make shortcakes out of these and what a great flavor combination. Yum.

  2. Seriously, leave it to you to serve these with ice cream. It looks so delicious! I really liked these biscuits, but then I like most all biscuits! Great job on yours.

  3. You’re giving an entirely new definition to the word “leftovers”: white-chocolate peanut butter ganache and peanut-sesame crunch? Incredible.

  4. What a great idea! I wish I had saved my leftovers and had ice cream and biscuits for breakfast! Apparently the magical puff fairy visited your kitchen instead of mine — they look great!

  5. Wow, you win for most creative! I just served mine with butter, LOL.

    Your shortcakes look divine. I love all things buttermilk and enjoy making ice cream so I can’t wait to try that recipe. Looks pretty easy.

  6. I added a generous 1/4 tsp cinnamon and a few shakes of nutmeg and I think that spiced these up nicely! I love your idea of making them into shortcakes with the ice cream- brilliant!

  7. Ice cream? You? What a big surprise…….

    I love buttermilk ice cream, it has such a tangy delicious flavor. And I’ll bet it went really well with the biscuit.

  8. Wow I’ve never had buttermilk ice cream, must try your recipe. It looks so delicious. question, does the puree have the same amount of sugar as the other canned potatoes? maybe you added extra sugar. Just curious.
    AmyRuth

  9. Wow! You’re awesome! Best idea I’ve seen with these. I really felt they should be made for something sweet, not savory. (I did sweet, too, with a cinnamon glaze on top, but your ice cream tops all!)

  10. The ice cream and the biscuits look terrific! I bookmarked that buttermilk ice cream in my copy of Bon Appetit but still haven’t gotten around to trying it yet.

  11. I love biscuits (when they’re good). I have never actually made my own because I am worried about failing myself. The sweet potato in this sounds like the perfect touch, it might just be my turn to give these a shot.

  12. These look wonderful and who would have thought of serving them with ice cream…wow, what a great idea! We loved these, I am sure the guys would love them even more with ice cream on them!

Leave a comment