{twd} sugar-topped spice cookies (+ cinnamon ice cream)

spice3

Sugar-Topped  Molasses Spice Cookies: A perfectly spiced cookie that was a big hit with everyone.

I baked them for a Junk-Food Halloween hike to the top of Mt. Baldy. Other people brought Halloween candy, I brought homemade cookies.

For home use, I made them into ice cream sandwiches with the Cinnamon Ice Cream from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop.

Thank you to Pamela of Cookies with Boys for hosting this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection. For the recipe, visit her blog or buy the book.

spice2

39 thoughts on “{twd} sugar-topped spice cookies (+ cinnamon ice cream)

  1. I made these last week and loved them too! Yours look awesome, love the ice cream sandwich 🙂 I have also made that cinnamon ice cream and it is perfect! I made the cran apple crisp this week, so good!

  2. Mmmmm, with cinnamon ice cream they must have been absolutely delicious. I love that you brought these for your hike. They seem like a really great hiking cookie. Sturdy enough to carry in a pack without breaking, sweet enough to be a treat, but not too sweet.

  3. Ooh! What a great idea to do the cinnamon ice cream! It looks like yours turned out perfectly. I still have one packet left and need to bake them a little bit longer.

  4. I can see why everyone loved them. They are a good looking cookie and generally I don’t like thin cookies. They look even better sandwiching some yummy cinnamony ice cream!
    ~ingrid

  5. OMG OMG OMG..can I say OMG again? I took one look at these, and nearly died. All that cinnamon ice cream sandwished between those gorgeous spice cookies, and that butter toffe crunch below, and the chocolate bundt..HELP, I’m salivating! You totally rock, Wendy, and probably kill diets..lol

Leave a comment