Sweet Potatoes!!

IMGP7299

I heart sweet potatoes and was considering holding a Sweet Potato Week just like my recent Pumpkin Week. I decided against it because I didn’t want to get sick of sweet potatoes like I did with pumpkin. I’m just getting over my pumpkin ennui.

For a change, I’ve been going back to some of my cookbooks that I haven’t cooked or baked from in awhile. I recently made  Sweet Potato Muffins with Crystallized Ginger from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. I also busted out my book that started me off, the original version How to Cook Everything to make some of the sauces for my pizza party.

This week’s Vegan Tuesday recipe~Morrocan Sweet Potato Salad~ comes from The Art of Simple Food. I changed the recipe a bit. I added a red onion, used lime juice instead of lemon, and doubled the cilantro.  The salad is spiced with saffron, paprika, and cumin.

Moroccan Sweet Potato Salad

Adapted from The Art of Simple Food
  • 1 pound of sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
  • 1 red onion, coarsely chopped
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pinch of saffron threads
  • 1/2 teaspoon of grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of paprika
  • Salt
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  1. Toss sweet potatoes and onions with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Place in 375º F oven and roast until sweet potatoes are tender. Remove from oven and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk together saffron, cumin, paprika, salt, and lime juice. Slowly add in olive oil. Pour over sweet potatoes while they are still warm. Stir in cilantro. Let sit for 30 minutes, tossing occasionally. Serve at room temperature.

The salad is good, but not as good as Mark Bittman’s Roasted Sweet Potato Salad with Black Beans and Chili Dressing. I made it for a pot luck a few weeks ago, took pictures, and never blogged it. So here it is:

IMGP6972

While googling it for the recipe, I found another Mark Bittman sweet potato salad that sounds delicious: Southwestern Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad. I’m going to make this for another potluck in a couple weeks.