Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions

My pantry is full of ingredients. Full of ingredients I bought for one recipe. Special whole grains–amaranth, quinoa, farro, barley–and lots of lentils and beans. I have three (3!) different types of lentils.  I made Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything  because I wanted to make room in my pantry. I now only have 2 types of lentils. :)

I cooked a similar recipe from Veganomicon before. It’s a simple vegan comfort-food recipe that’s good when it’s cold outside (even Southern California cold).

You can find the recipe HERE.

4 thoughts on “Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions

  1. Anything with caramelized onions positively screams “Make ME!” This looks delicious. I need to get into my pantry and start using up half-used bags of these things again. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Would you believe I’ve never had lentils? I keep meaning to buy some and try them, but I think I’m hesitant because I don’t know what I’ll do with them if it turns out I’m not a fan…

  3. This sounds really good, especially with the cumin. I made a lentil and rice risotto once that wasn’t that great, but the lentil and rice combo was a winner.

Leave a Reply

