Bake 2 Share: Brownies

Way back in May, King Arthur Flour offered bakers 2 pounds of all-purpose flour for free if you made something to share with others.  The program was called Bake 2 Share and KAF gave away 5,000 bags in less than 24 hours. I was one of the lucky recipients.

I received the flour in late May and then as you know if you follow my blog, I was out of my house for the next 3 months. Last week I was reunited with the flour (and back in my house, yay!) and the very first thing I baked were these brownies.

I made them for my Mom who volunteers with a local chapter of The Assistance League. Every September, at the start of the school year, The Assistance League runs Operation School Bell which gives away school clothes to children in need. It’s a big undertaking and volunteers work hard all week organizing and finding clothes that fit the children. These brownies were for the volunteers.

The recipe comes from the back of the 5 lb bag of all-purpose KAF. Let me tell you about these brownies. I rarely repeat recipes because there are sooooo many I want to try. I’ve made these brownies 4 times. People love them. Ask for them. Can’t stop eating them they are so good. They are fudgy and chewy with the perfectly crackily top.

You can find the recipe HERE.

23 thoughts on “Bake 2 Share: Brownies

  1. Hi, those look great…my mom is on her way over, and I was going to sit here and surf the internet. but, you know what…I’m going to make these brownies instead!!
    Peace, Stephanie

  2. They look so awesome in the photo! I’m adding these to my list of brownies I’d like to try.

    What a great cause too. I bet the volunteers were very happy to get such a great treat!

  3. These must be good if you’ve repeated them. I know between all of the baking groups I rarely have time to repeat recipes, even when I really want to. I’ll have to give them a shot!

  4. Free flour from KAF? How lucky are you?🙂 And how lucky are those volunteers to receive these gorgeous brownies? They look wonderful. You’ve got to share your secret for cutting such perfect brownies. Mine are always ragged around the edges.

  5. Those look yummy! I get about a thousand emails from KAF every week, and I don’t remember hearing about free stuff! Maybe I forgot to check the “free stuff” box when I subscribed!

  6. This post made me realize I haven’t used that flour yet – shoot! Definitely need to get around to that soon! Those brownies look absolutely fantastic, and I bet they were quite appreciated!

Leave a Reply

