{twd} Chocolate Crunched Caramel Tart + Giveaway

I’m still recovering from my whirlwind weekend in San Francisco for Blogher Food 2009. Every time I visit the City and the Bay Area, I get a little sad because I don’t live there anymore and I have to remind myself to visit more often.

Lunch at the conference was sponsored by a frozen pasta meal company that shall not be named. It was awful and that is putting it mildly. Rocco DiSpirito (who is gorgeous in real-life) was there promoting the products and trying to convince all us food bloggers that frozen meals are great and that he has a freezer full of them. We were encouraged to Tweet the frozen pasta meal company and Rocco during the meal to ask questions about the product. The Tweets were projected on a big screen. If your question was picked, you won some prizes.

IMG00334-20090926-1211

Fueled by the wine served at lunch and encouraged by the women sitting at my table, I tweeted Rocco and asked him: “Hey, I’m newly single. Want to go out?“. It was fun and carefree, but Rocco never responded. :’(.
Prior to asking him out, one of my questions about the frozen pasta meal company was picked and I won some prizes which I will now share with you.


I have a copy of Rocco DiSpirito’s Rocco Gets Real: Cook at Home Everyday. If you would like it, let me know what you think. Should Rocco have responded? Did he miss a great opportunity? :P Please leave a comment and let me know your opinion by 11:59pm on 10/5. Winner will be randomly selected.

IMG00338-20090926-1230

Thank you to Carla of Chocolate Moosey for selecting this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe. I made the full recipe and served it a dinner party. It was very delicious and people enjoyed it. I loved the crunch the nuts added. Oh, and I used honey-roasted cashews because I couldn’t find honey-roasted peanuts and sprinkled the tart with cocoa powder. If  you would like the recipe, please visit Carla’s blog or buy the book.