It’s my Blogoversary!

Cake Business: I did not bake a cake for my blogoversary. I baked it for my birthday party, which was earlier this month. It is a Mint Chocolate Cake. The recipe comes from the August 5, 2009 Los Angeles Times Food section and you can find it HERE. I added crushed Newman-Os Hint o’ Mint cookies in between layers and on the side of the cake (I used the whole 16-oz package, minus 1 cookie which I gave to my Dad). Instead of baking it in the 9″ rounds, I used 7″ squares, which made nice thick layers.

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been a year.  It’s been so much fun and I’ve learned so much, but more importantly I’ve met a bunch of great people from all over the world and joined the wonderful community of food bloggers. We’re an amazing group, aren’t we? I started my Cooking Odyssey in March 2008 and by summer of that year, I found and was unofficially baking along with Tuesdays with Dorie. I didn’t officially join, because I didn’t have a blog and wasn’t motivated to start one.

On August 4th, I was selected as “Juror #1” for a murder trial that ended up lasting 5 weeks. There were three defendants with three defense lawyers and everyone got their opening/closing statements and questioning of witnesses. It was interesting at first, but then it dragged on. One of the benefits of Jury Duty was that  the court would adjourn for the day at 3 pm and I ended up having all this free time in the afternoons. Because of this, I finally decided to start a blog.{The outcome of the trial: 1 guilty of lesser charge, voluntary manslaughter; 1 no-decision, hung jury; 1 not-guilty}

Pink Stripes was born on August 22, 2008. The name comes from the pattern of the William-Sonoma apron I always wear while cooking/baking. A lot of things have changed since then, I’ve grown not only as a blogger–but as a person too.  In fact, while you are reading this I am on a boat on the way to Catalina via Long Beach for my first 3 California open-water dives. Once today is over, I will be a PADI-certified open water diver.

My Cooking Odyssey Anniversary Post focused on what I learned in my year of cooking/baking, so now I’m focusing on Pink Stripes facts.

Total Number of Posts: 220

Total Number of Comments: 5,200+

Top Posts (based on number of views):

1. Cheese Danish

cheese-danish

2. {sms} Bee Stings, omg

beestings

3. Whole Wheat Zucchini Muffins

zucchinimuffin

4. {sms} Lemon Boysenberry Mini-Cheesecakes

lemonboysenberrycheesecake

5. Bagels

imgp5018

6. {SMS} Lemon Icebox Cake with Fresh Blackberry Sauce

lemon-icebox

7. Pomegranate Frozen Yogurt

pom-frozen-yogurt

8. I did it! And I’m never doing it again...

croissant

9. Yes, I did it again.

choc-croissant

10. Morning Buns

morning bun

Looking at this list reminds me of something my mother told me as we were waiting in line at The Coffee Bean. She said, “Wendy, do you realize you have made a version of everything in this pastry case?” Looking at the case, I realized its true. I’ve made cookies, brownies,  bagels, croissants, danish, muffins, scones, lemon bars, pizza, carrot cake, coconut cake, granola, madelines, bear claws, cinnamon rolls….” And because she is my mother she also said she bets that they all tasted 10x better.

Anyway, it’s been a great year and a wonderful journey. Thank you to all of my readers and new friends, I feel like we’re family!🙂

37 thoughts on “It’s my Blogoversary!

  1. You have certainly kicked butt in the baking department! It’s always nice to look at the cases in coffee shops are realize that you can make everything that’s in there – only yours is so much better.

    Congrats on becoming a certified diver – that’s really impressive.

  2. Congrats! And I’d place my money on your mom’s opinion. I love the look of your baked goodies. I bet they are 10x better than at the coffee shop!

  3. Wendy, your an amazing blogger and I love coming to visit and see the beautiful art you’ve made. Yummy! I hope you saw some amazing art under the sea as well and you have many more adventures in warm clear beautiful waters. Mom’s are dear and honest…. undoubtedly the Pinkstripes projects had to be 10X better! Wish I lived in CA, but at least I can still see and read about it. Happy baking and congratulations on all you’ve accomplished.
    AmyRuth

  4. Congratulations on your bloggy birthday! Your odyssey post is one of my favorite blog posts anywhere, and it’s been fun to watch you grow and learn. I have no doubt that your baked goods put Starbucks’ ones to shame, but I’d also wager that yours would give Bouchon’s a run for their money!

  5. Congratulations! You have a beautiful blog with gorgeous photos and recipes. It’s been great fun baking along with you in the BBA Challenge. Here’s to many more happy returns!

  6. Happy blogiversary, Wendy. I enjoy your blog and your pics, and now the Kitchen Reader. Look forward to ‘talking’ more on Twitter and reading/looking/drooling over more of your successes.

  7. Happy blogiversary! I’m still amazed at how you went from not cooking to so much amazing cooking and baking. It’s great that you’re enjoying it so much and that you’re sharing it through your blog!

  8. Happy Blogoversary Wendy! Great post – I loved learning how your blog came to be. I’m very glad we get to bake together for SMS and TWD and I look forward to more baking in the next year🙂

    Good luck with the dives today!

  9. Congratulations not just on your blogiversary but also on all you have achieved this past year. You have been a source of inspiration for me and I thank you for all of your wonderful comments. I look forward to what year 2 will bring. Have a great dive!

  10. You have done a really great job with your blog and all your cooking and baking. Congratulations on the blog and the diving! And good luck with everything this coming year will bring.
    Peace, Stephanie

  11. Congratulations, Wendy! Your blog is so great, and you’re so wonderful about visiting mine and giving encouragement! Looking forward to reading much much more (and it’s also great to know what your intriguing blog name means…)
    Audrey

  12. Congratulations on one year!

    I so enjoy reading your blog, and am impressed with all of the things you’ve conquered in the last year – cooking-related and non.

    Especially those croissants. Actually, I’m pretty sure the first post I read of yours was your croissants…

    Anyway, here’s to many more years of such wonderful achievements. I can’t wait to read all about them!

  13. Happy blogoversary Wendy! I always click on your blog as soon as new posts show up in my google reader – I truly enjoy it and am already looking forward to your next year of posts!

  14. Happy One Year, darling!

    So very proud of you!

    You have definitely developed into a very fine cook/baker over the year and have inspired people like me to bake croissants, make ice creams, etc. from your posts.

    Funny, I just returned from Long Beach and I am in love with Belmont Shores. I *really* want to live there!

    Keep up the good work . . . I will always be your loyal fan!😉

    xoxo

  15. Happy Blogiversary!

    I don’t think your Mom’s just telling you that. You’ve successfully made numerous challenging recipes. I hope one day (in the distant :)) to be able to say that I’ve accomplished the same or at least attempted them.
    ~ingrid

  16. Ugh! I’m so behind on my reader and posting comments. Happy Blogoversary!! I love your blog and your pictures. I’m so glad I found you. Keep up the excellent work.

  17. Congratulations! I just wanted to mention that I’m really glad you write this blog- it’s been inspirational for me.
    Like right now, I realized I still haven’t gotten around to making the morning buns.🙂

Leave a Reply

