Whole Wheat Zucchini Muffins

My sister’s boyfriend showed up at my parent’s house with a giant zucchini. Yes, literally, a giant zucchini that came from his family’s garden.  I cook with zucchini all the time, but I’ve never baked with it. I know zucchini bread is a summer classic when the squash is in season and home gardeners have so much their friends and neighbors run away screaming because they don’t want anymore.

Giant Zucchini: 3 lbs, 3 oz

Giant Zucchini: 3 lbs, 3 oz

I found a recipe for Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread in the King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking book and decided to try it. Instead of a loaf, I made muffins. The recipe made 16 standard-sized muffins. Also, instead of grating the zucchini (my parents don’t have a box grater. Who doesn’t have one?), I diced it really small. Or tried to dice it really small. I’m lazy with my knife skills.

The muffins turned out great, diced zucchini and all, and were a big hit at the office. Which reminds me, another reason I made these was to bring something into the office on Monday. I made cookies, but now that I’m in a house full of people they didn’t last the weekend. Apparently, my staff was a bit traumatized when I wasn’t able to bake for a few weekends and showed up to work empty-handed. They told me never to do it again.

You can find the recipe from the book HERE.  There is a different whole wheat zucchini bread recipe on the King Arthur website.

26 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Zucchini Muffins

  1. Very interesting to use diced zucchini, usually when the zucchini is grated it sorta blends in to the rest of the bread….also, I love the muffins…I make lots of loaf breads into muffins instead cause it’s so easy for my kids to just grab one (or two) instead of having to cut a slice!!
    Peace, Stephanie

  2. I love baking with zucchini. Did you use it all? That looked like a lot of zucchini! I’ve posted two really good zucchini bread/muffin recipes if you want to look around my blog too. One was a chocolate zucchini bread that was sooo darn good. We loved it.
    Your muffins look awesome!
    Michelle

  3. That is one big zucchini – over 3 pounds!! (Love the scale, btw, I have the same one). I still haven’t dipped into that book but this may a great recipe to start with. Love the way your muffins look, and I hope it helped your staff recover from their sweets deprivation.

  4. I love zucchini in just about anything. It’s my favorite vege to add to baked goods. I have this recihttp://homebakedsweetness.blogspot.com/pe for frosted zucchini cookies. The frosting is made with buttermilk and is out of this world good! I try not to make them to much cus I can eat a ton! You should check out my blog, Im giving away a super cute apron

  5. Great looking muffins. I never met a zucchini (any size) that I wasn’t happy to have and use up. I even grew, oh I think two plants once and it really does start coming out the ears! ;) They’ve had some BIG ‘UNs at our farmer’s market the last few weeks!

  6. Sweet Lord, that IS a giant zucch!!!! Hahahah what else to do with it than bake it into some muffins, eh?
    Lovely, very healthy. Perfect breakfast!

  7. I would have run screaming from the room at the sight of that zucchini!

    I have a smaller version in my fridge right now, I’m going to make chocolate chip zucchini bread later today.

  8. haha, I am laughing at that zucchini. I love it! If I brought that home the BF would make some unsavory jokes about where he wanted to put that. I would have to hide it from him :)

    I have also never made zucchini bread before, I should try making some this summer.

  9. I would have loved to see comments from the people that had actually tried this recipe, instead of a bunch of comments about how big the zucchini is.

  10. I made this recipe this morning, cause I am trying to find the perfect muffin recipe to make dozens of and freeze so that the kids can grab a quick breakfast before school. We didn’t care for this recipe so much. The taste was bland and the texture was not what we like personally in a muffin — but it is what you often find in muffin recipes. We prefer a dense muffin like the Panera Pumpkin muffins. Still looking… Thanks for sharing the recipe though! I just responded cause someone else asked for a comment from someone who tried the recipe…

  11. I am definitely going to try this recipe in the next couple of days. Another good way to use zucchini is in pancakes for breakfast or lunch.
    Original recipe (serves 4 makes 12 pancakes) called for 1/4 cup egg substitute, 2/3 cup whole wheat flour, 1 tsp baking powder but I cheated to downsize for 2 people and used a prepared whole wheat pancake mix. Add some finely chopped onion (I used dried chopped onion) and garlic with grated Zucchini and thinly sliced button mushrooms. Add some salt and pepper. Cook over medium heat in skillet for 2 minutes or until golden brown; turn and cook for another couple of minutes. You’ll be surprised!

Leave a Reply

