It’s my Blogoversary!

Cake Business: I did not bake a cake for my blogoversary. I baked it for my birthday party, which was earlier this month. It is a Mint Chocolate Cake. The recipe comes from the August 5, 2009 Los Angeles Times Food section and you can find it HERE. I added crushed Newman-Os Hint o’ Mint cookies in between layers and on the side of the cake (I used the whole 16-oz package, minus 1 cookie which I gave to my Dad). Instead of baking it in the 9″ rounds, I used 7″ squares, which made nice thick layers.

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been a year.  It’s been so much fun and I’ve learned so much, but more importantly I’ve met a bunch of great people from all over the world and joined the wonderful community of food bloggers. We’re an amazing group, aren’t we? I started my Cooking Odyssey in March 2008 and by summer of that year, I found and was unofficially baking along with Tuesdays with Dorie. I didn’t officially join, because I didn’t have a blog and wasn’t motivated to start one.

On August 4th, I was selected as “Juror #1″ for a murder trial that ended up lasting 5 weeks. There were three defendants with three defense lawyers and everyone got their opening/closing statements and questioning of witnesses. It was interesting at first, but then it dragged on. One of the benefits of Jury Duty was that  the court would adjourn for the day at 3 pm and I ended up having all this free time in the afternoons. Because of this, I finally decided to start a blog.{The outcome of the trial: 1 guilty of lesser charge, voluntary manslaughter; 1 no-decision, hung jury; 1 not-guilty}

Pink Stripes was born on August 22, 2008. The name comes from the pattern of the William-Sonoma apron I always wear while cooking/baking. A lot of things have changed since then, I’ve grown not only as a blogger–but as a person too.  In fact, while you are reading this I am on a boat on the way to Catalina via Long Beach for my first 3 California open-water dives. Once today is over, I will be a PADI-certified open water diver.

My Cooking Odyssey Anniversary Post focused on what I learned in my year of cooking/baking, so now I’m focusing on Pink Stripes facts.

Total Number of Posts: 220

Total Number of Comments: 5,200+

Top Posts (based on number of views):

1. Cheese Danish

cheese-danish

2. {sms} Bee Stings, omg

beestings

3. Whole Wheat Zucchini Muffins

zucchinimuffin

4. {sms} Lemon Boysenberry Mini-Cheesecakes

lemonboysenberrycheesecake

5. Bagels

imgp5018

6. {SMS} Lemon Icebox Cake with Fresh Blackberry Sauce

lemon-icebox

7. Pomegranate Frozen Yogurt

pom-frozen-yogurt

8. I did it! And I’m never doing it again...

croissant

9. Yes, I did it again.

choc-croissant

10. Morning Buns

morning bun

Looking at this list reminds me of something my mother told me as we were waiting in line at The Coffee Bean. She said, “Wendy, do you realize you have made a version of everything in this pastry case?” Looking at the case, I realized its true. I’ve made cookies, brownies,  bagels, croissants, danish, muffins, scones, lemon bars, pizza, carrot cake, coconut cake, granola, madelines, bear claws, cinnamon rolls….” And because she is my mother she also said she bets that they all tasted 10x better.

Anyway, it’s been a great year and a wonderful journey. Thank you to all of my readers and new friends, I feel like we’re family! :)