{sms} whole-wheat triple ginger fresh peach muffins

I was wide awake at 3 am on Thursday morning. I thought to myself, Why don’t I make this week’s Sweet Melissa Sunday recipe? Isn’t that what any self-respecting baker with deadlines thinks to themselves in the wee-hours of the morning? I quickly scanned the ingredients to see if they needed any room-temperature butter and since they didn’t I was good to go.

I think because of my recent bout of seasickness, I couldn’t stop thinking of Trader Joe’s Triple-Ginger Gingernaps Nancy of The Dogs Eat Crumbs mentioned in this post. I made the following changes/additions to the recipe: I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and 1/2 all-purpose flour; I grated 1/2 inch of peeled fresh ginger and rubbed it in with the sugar and orange zest; I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger; and finally added 2 tablespoons of chopped crystellized ginger.

There were a big hit both at home and at work. I like making muffins because they are easy and tasty. Thanks to JoVonn of The Givens Chronicles for selecting the Fresh Peach Muffins for this week’s recipe. For the recipe visit her blog or buy the book.