{twd} cherry-fudge brownie torte

IMGP7164

If you want a show-stopping dessert this is it. If you want a quick and easy treat this is NOT it. Luckily I had a party this week so I was in need of a fabulous dessert. With lots of dishes and ingredients, this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, the Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte, certainly fit the bill.

It’s a souped-up brownie with a hint of spice from coarsely-ground black pepper and liquored-up dried tart cherries. I love liquored-up dried fruit recipes because you get to set them on fire. Fun times.

cherriesonfire

The torte is topped with a vanilla-flavored creamy mascarpone mousse. I decorated the top with sprinkled cocoa powder and chopped and whole chocolate-covered cherries.

The torte was so successful that it disappeared before I could try it. My guests loved it and really dug the surprise of the black pepper.

IMGP7166

The pizza party was also a success. All the guests had a fabulous time and can’t wait for my next party in January. Unfortunately, I didn’t take good pictures during the party. I was so busy rolling out dough and watching the oven. It was interesting to see the different ways people topped their pizza. Some were very methodical and took a along time creating their pizza, others were very haphazard.

The Dessert Spread, before party

The Dessert Spread, before party

I made 6 different types of pizza dough (which I divided into 5 oz individual pizza size ) and 4 different sauces. I provided some toppings and guests were told to bring their favorite toppings. We baked most on my pizza stone, but we also made a few pan-style.

after

The Dessert Spread, after party

Thank you to April of Short + Rose for hosting this week’s selection. In addition to being a fabulous baker, she is also an avid gardener and crafter. I love reading about everything that comes out of her garden. If you would like the recipe for the torte visit her blog or buy the book.

49 thoughts on “{twd} cherry-fudge brownie torte

  1. Too bad you didn’t get to try it, but that proves it was delicious! I really like how you decorated it. Great job with the dessert spread for the party too!

  2. Thank you SO much for baking with me this week! I’m so glad everyone like it too, it looks amazing. I’m kicking myself for not thinking of decorating my top with cherries. And what a fantastic looking dessert spread, wow!

  3. Your brownie torte looks absolutely gorgeous. So pretty. Love the decorations. Your party sounds like it was fantastic. I love pizza parties.

  4. So fun to hear about your party (although you really should have slept afterwards 😛 ), and I bet they loved that torte! Make your own pizza parties are just so much fun.

  5. ok, first of all your brownie torte looks amaaaazing! Second, that dessert spread is incredible!!! I bet your guests were completely wow’d!!! Sounds like it was a great night!

  6. Your pizza party sounds like great fun.

    I really liked this torte, too, and plan on making it for Thanksgiving. It’s not a super easy recipe, but I figure I can make the brownie cake part and the mascarpone mousse a day ahead of time (which always helps) and just assemble it the morning of the holiday.

  7. Amazing! What a beautiful cake. I’m not surprised that it disappeared. Your pizza party sounds like a fun, though work-filled, idea. Glad everyone enjoyed.

  8. your cake looks great- what a good idea to top it with those chocolate covered cherries! it sounds like your pizza party was a huge success- I’m jealous, I’ve always wanted to do a party like that but I think I’d be too disorganized to get everyone’s pizza baked in a timely fashion! sounds like great fun!

  9. I think that is a very cool party idea (if a little labor-intensive for you). All those crusts and sauces sound fabulous, and I’ll bet there were some amazing combinations in your oven. I love the way your torte looks – it’s show-stopping all on its own, but in combination with the rest of the things on your dessert table? Simply amazing!

  10. Your party pics looked awesome and love pizza party idea. I may have to steal that one.

    Bummer your friends snagged it all but I am pretty sure if I was there you would have found me hiding with the whole torte devouring it.

  11. You host my kind of party! Look at that dessert selection! Your tort is gorgeous and I am so sorry you missed out on tasting it, because it was wonderful. What a great photo of the magnificent flambé. It was quite a fire, wasn’t it?

  12. Holy cow, you’re not kidding about this being a show stopper of a dessert – your torte looks amazing! Sounds like the pizza party was a major success, so fun too! =)

  13. I am so glad your party was such a hit. Not surprised. The torte looks amazing, again glad it worked well for your guest. Maybe I’ll make it afterall. Hmmm haven’t been a big cherry/chocolate fan historically. Its worth a try though right?
    AmyRuth

  14. I skipped this, not intentionally, just life got in the way and I had waited until the last day to make it, so I just threw in the towel and convinced myself to just get over it. However, now that I see yours, I can so see this on a dessert buffet during the Christmas holidays, the colors are perfect. yep, doing that. It was such fun to get to hear and see your dessert buffet for your party…I am sure your guests all felt very special being presented with all this.

  15. Your party sounds like it was so much fun! I adore pizza 🙂 I’m amazed by the dessert spread – everything looks wonderful, people must have been psyched when they saw it. The torte is especially gorgeous! I missed this one but maybe another time I’ll get around to trying it.

  16. You can use rose petals, honeysuckle & calendulas to decorate your plain Christmas cake.
    This suggests banks will be in a position to borrow cash from
    the central authority at low rates and subsequently, they are going to be able to
    offer low interest private loans. On the other hand, if
    you are a retailer who sells appropriate gifts
    such as jewelry and perfumes or have a romantic restaurant you can customize these certificates and
    sell them to patrons.

  17. You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. Cucumber contains sterols which can help to lower cholesterol and prevent carbohydrates from converting to body fat. Many people don’t have the time to
    weight themselves every day, but checking the scale on a regular basis can
    definitely help when you’re working to lose weight and keep it off.

Leave a comment