What?! More cookbooks?

The first cookbook is Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking. Heidi is a well-known natural/vegetartian food blogger who created 101 Cookbooks. It’s a great website full of healthy recipes. I’m trying to incorporate healthy (but yummy!) ingredients such as whole grains, beans, alternate flours, etc into my cooking and baking and I think this is the perfect cookbook to guide me.

imgp2167

Yesterday, I made the Seed-Crusted Amaranth Biscuits. Biscuits, in general, are very easy to make and these were no exception. They only difference was that they were made with whole wheat all-purpose, whole-wheat pastry, and amaranth flours. The flavor is complex and layered and completely different than typical buttermilk biscuits, but no less yummy. These were perfect with the homemade potato-leek soup I made for dinner yesterday.

The second cookbook is The Art and Soul of Baking from Sur la Table and Cindy Mushet. I love, love, love this cookbook. The pictures are gorgeous, the recipes look good, and there are a bunch of helpful tips and ideas that I think will help me become a better baker.

imgp2169

I must have been in the mood for a baking marathon yesterday, because I also made the Old-fashioned White Bread. We’re using it for sandwiches this week instead of buying store or bakery-bought bread. There’s something about homemade bread that makes it absolutely wonderful even though I am nowhere being a master baker (or even an apprentice baker 😛 ).