No Nut Sticky Buns


While I wouldn’t mind a pecan or two, Paul is not a fan of most nuts in baked goods. And I have a wedding dress to fit into in 4 days (!). Speaking of which, with last minute RSVPs, multiple calls to catering and the party rental people, and figuring out seating arrangements–I am very ready for our mini-moon to the beach. Until then, we have massages and facials on the calendar today and I’ve started physical therapy.

This week’s Tuesday with Dorie recipe is for Pecan Sticky Buns. Instead of pecans, I used white chocolate chunks and dried cherries. I made a full recipe of brioche (in my food processor–first time! as my stand mixer is dead and no way was I going to make brioche by hand with my bum knee) but only half recipe of the buns. I baked the buns in a cupcake tin which made them more like morning buns.

My gosh, these things were good. A flaky and tender, sweet breakfast treat worthy of a full batch when I’m back to cycling and running and training and working and moving. You can find the recipe in Dorie Greenspan’s Baking with Juila or you can visit the blogs of this week’s hosts:  Lynn of Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat and Nicole of Cookies on Friday.

And this marks my 400th post! Cheers!

photo by paulrus
21 thoughts on “No Nut Sticky Buns

  1. They look lovely! A muffin pan is a great idea. I bet you are so excited when you have a minute to think about it. ;) Congrats and I hope all goes perfectly.

  2. I don’t have to worry about a wedding dress fitting, but just my regular clothes! ;) I went out of town and didn’t make these (yet). Love your switches for the pecans, though I’d for sure go with nuts. Have a wonderful wedding and mini-moon!

  3. Congrats on the 400th post!! I just hit 10…way behind :) I love your idea of the cupcake pan!! I CAN”T believe you had the time to make these the week of your wedding…they were very time consuming!! Congratulations on the wedding :)

  4. Happy 400th-versary! I was also thinking of using a muffin tin but I had to choose between extra large buns or bite-size ones…I really like the shape of yours!

  5. Congrats on 400 posts, and good luck with the rest of the last-minute wedding things this week. So exciting! I’m with Paul – no nuts is the way to go :)

  6. I can’t believe you baked these so close to your wedding! You go, girl!!! I’m glad I’m not the only one with a nut phobic spouse ;)

  7. Wow…I’m impressed that you could pull this off 4 days before your wedding day! They look beautiful! Congrats on your 400th post! And Best of Luck with your wedding!

Leave a Reply

