{TWD v2.0} White Loaves

I love baking bread. The magic of yeast and flour and water and salt coming together to create a meal. I love the feel of the formed dough  in my hands. It feels alive and full of energy. When the bread rises, it’s like POW. I’m alive! Then  in the oven the bread rises some more and gains it final shape with a nice crust. Once baked, we all have to wait patiently while the bread cools. There are different opinions on how long bread should cool. The Fresh Loaf has an interesting discussion. I tend to let bread cool for at least hour. However, it’s not just me anymore.  Both Paul & Nani #17 circle the kitchen island waiting for me to say okay. I don’t know what Nani’s waiting for; he doesn’t get bread.

I created Pink Stripes to join the original Tuesdays with Dorie (TWD) and because of it I’ve met and shared with an amazing group of people. My life got hectic and I didn’t have much time to bake and blog. The original TWD ended with celebration late last year and the group announced the creation of a new TWD. The new group will bake through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking with Julia. I had the book and missed the baking and blogging life. TWD v2.0 was just what I needed for motivation to end my sabbatical.

This week’s recipe: White Loaves was hosted by Laurie of Slush and Jules of Someone’s in the Kitchen

Photo by Paulrus
33 thoughts on “{TWD v2.0} White Loaves

  1. I was horribly afraid of baking yeast bread before this challenge, but now I think I’ve sufficiently conquered it and you’ve definitely inspired me to be more creative with my future bread-baking endeavors!

  2. So happy you are back…there was a little something missing with you gone. Your loaves look great, love them both…fun to see different shapes with the recipe always.

  3. Welcome back to TWD! So glad you’re Baking along with Julia and us. ;)
    I think if someone wants a slice of warm from the oven bread, it’s okay to slice it. But it slices better and comes in to its own when waiting until it’s cool. And WHO can wait? ;)

  4. Wendy what fabulous loaves! Very impressive. Glad to know you are back for round two of this group. I’ve always loved seeing your photos and how creative you are with the recipes.

  5. Wendy, I’m so glad you’re back! I’ve missed your posts and recipes and had checked in a couple of times while your blog was down and I kept hoping it’d be back up. Yay! Your new puppy is adorable, we’ve been contemplating adding a furry four legged friend to our family too, hopefully soon.

    Your bread looks perfect, I love the round loaf. Have a great night :)

  6. Welcome back! I’m also from the first round but bailed in mid 2009. Isn’t it great to be at it again??Looking forward to baking with you. Cheers! PS Love the fancy loaf!

Leave a Reply

