{twd} eruption cookies

This is my first non-vacation post since I returned from my trip and these cookies are the first thing I baked since I returned. And what a perfect choice for this week.

I arrived back in the US last Sunday, went straight back to work on Monday, and was a zombie until Friday morning. I didn’t feel like doing anything. I didn’t think I would ever want to bake again.😛 I didn’t even unpack; I had stuff strewn all over all week.

I headed back into the kitchen on Friday morning determined to bake the Café Volcano Cookies, this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection. I didn’t need to make that much effort. These cookies were the easiest thing to bake. You take all the ingredients throw them in a pot, stir until it’s nice and warm. Scoop the dough into little mounds and bake. That’s it.

I’m not ususally a fan of meringue cookies, but with the addition of chopped nuts and espresso, I really liked them. They were a big hit with my brother who kept asking for more and called them “eruption cookies”. They were a big hit at work too. People really liked them.

Thank you to Macduff of The Lonely Sidecar for hosting this week. Like I wrote, it was an awesome choice. If you would like the recipe, visit her blog or by the book.

35 thoughts on “{twd} eruption cookies

  1. Your cookies look great! I was intrigued by these from the moment I read the recipe – I’d never seen a recipe quite like this one. Glad these were such a hit; I’ll have to try them soon!

  2. Thank you so much for baking with me this week! Just thinking about coming back from vacay makes me exhausted…there’s no better energy suck than having to unpack. So I am entirely grateful that you took the time to make these with me…thank you thank you!

  3. Yours look so beautiful that I’m jealous! My ugly-but-lovable cookies can’t compete with your just back from vacation beauties!

    I enjoyed all your vacay posts and was mesmerized by all your dive photos!

  4. If anyone was going to get really pretty cookies out of this recipe, I’d place my money on you. How on earth did you make your cookies presentable? I’m glad that the “eruption” cookies were a hit with everyone who tried them.

  5. Glad you’re back to baking. Don’t we always need a vacation from our vacation?!
    I will admit, these cookies aren’t very pretty, but I LOVE that cloth/placemat you have underneath yours. I love gingham!

  6. I’m the worst when it comes to unpacking after a vacation so I can only imagine how you felt after your fabulous trip! Glad the recipe was easy this week so you could ease back in with us. Of course, I managed to screw it up despite its simplicity🙂 Yours look like real cookies – good job!

  7. Hey, your cookies look great! I was going to make these but the family voted no. Well, all except my youngest son. He loves “air biscuits”. This is what him and his dad call them. Except he says this fondly, while his dad says it in disdain. I still may make them one day for my coffee loving guests. Lovely picture.

  8. Wendy, these cookies are aboslutely beautiful and sinfully delicous looking. I’ve inwardly started calling your blog ‘Wendylicious’ because every time I pop by, my mouth waters!😀

Leave a Reply

