Whole-wheat Pasta with Summer Vegetables

This recipe was inspired by the Gnocchi with Summer Vegetables recipe from Thomas Keller’s Bouchon cookbook. I didn’t have the time to make the gnocchi and I wanted to veganize it for Vegan Tuesdays so I used some whole-wheat penne I had on hand instead. I also used Earth Balance instead of butter.

This is not a quick recipe, but it is simple and delicious. The flavors are fresh and the addition of the olives and lemon juice really make this dish. You can find the original recipe HERE.

Edited to add: I’m mentioned and quoted in today’s Washington Post Food Section. You can find the article HERE. Thanks to  Cheryl for writing a great article!

23 thoughts on “Whole-wheat Pasta with Summer Vegetables

  1. This looks so tasty! I think I’m going to challenge myself to a week of eating vegan when I go back to uni, just to see if I can do it (and maybe blog it, if I succeed, heh) so I’ll bear simple healthy dishes like this in mind. Love the colours!

    Oh, and congrats on the article!

  2. I’m so excited that even I know a really special lady who was quoted in the Washington Post!!!!!!!!!!! Is that not so way cool for you, Wendy? I’m so excited for you and for the baking group as well. It sort of rejuvenates the whole blog mentality for me as well. I am currently crawling out of a summer slump. Thanks for the leg up, Wendy. Your whole wheat pasta up there really looks like a tasty and healthy use of whole wheat pasta and lovely late summer vegetables. Great job!
    AmyRuth

  3. Congrats on the Washington Post article! it’s so fun to read abt bloggers I feel like I already “know”!
    This pasta dish looks perfectly delish for a summer’s day. Love it.

  4. What a lovely way to celebrate summer vegetables, I almost think I could be a vegetarian during the summer when produce is so nice. Congrats on the article, super-cool!

Leave a Reply

