{twd} Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise

An added bonus to my baking/cooking education as a member of {too?} many online baking groups,  I’m also learning how to spell international words. This week I learned how to spell casatiello (Italian!), tartufo (Italian, again!), and today’s word: dacquoise (French!).  The hands-down funnest word I’ve learned to spell is christopsomos (Greek!).That one is also fun to pronounce.  Too bad there really isn’t a practical use for learning these new words; I can’t use most {all?} of them when I travel.

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe selection was the tropical Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise. I decided to make a quarter of the recipe because of the other baking I had going on this weekend. This involved me figuring out fractions at 5 in the morning. Early morning is never a good to time to try to remember how to divide fractions.  Why 5 am? I was awake and I knew the meringue base of the dacquoise would take 3 hours to bake.  3 hours? Yes, 3 hours. As is typical of baking meringues, the 3 merinque layers baked at a low temperature (225° F) for 3 hours.

The coconut-almond meringue layers  are coated with a white chocolate-whipped cream ganache  and topped with roasted pineapple.  Once assembled, toasted coconut is pressed into the sides of the dacquoise and then the whole thing needs to sit in the refrigerator for preferably 6 hours.

Although Diego was not around to bake this with me, when he saw it in the refrigerator he insisted we try it. I’m glad we did. It is light and crispy, perfectly tropical and not too sweet. I packed up the rest for work, where everyone enjoyed it.  You have to understand my work dynamics. I’ve brought in so many treats and goodies that co-workers have stopped complimenting me about them. I just watch the baked goods disappear throughout the day. When something is outrageously good, they say something to me. They couldn’t stop talking about the dacquoise.

Thank you to Andrea of Andrea in the Kitchen for selecting this week’s pick as we bake our way through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours. If you would like the recipe, please buy the book or visit Andrea’s blog. (I just noticed that Andrea posted the recipe with weight measurements too! So if you want to decrease the recipe, no need to divide fractions. Cool!)