mushroom and poblano tostada

This should have been a quick and easy recipe to throw together for dinner last night. Under normal circumstances, my knife skills are lacking and I chop very, very s-l-o-w.  Now that I’m temporily cooking in my parent’s kitchen, I’m lacking counter space too. I’m used to spreading out and taking over every last inch of counter space.  So, there I was chopping very, very s-l-o-w, trying to keep out of the way of my sister’s boyfriend, my mother, my father, and my sister as they came and went in and out of the kitchen for food.

It was well worth it. Once all the chopping was done, I sautéd the vegetables with olive oil and garlic, broiled the tortillas so they are nice and crisp,  and then topped them with the vegetable mix and salsa. The original recipe called for melted cheese on the tortilla, but I omitted it to keep this vegan. Other changes I made were to use corn tortillas instead of flour, using cremini mushrooms instead of button, and adding more garlic. I think this would make a great vegan taco or burrito filling too. The non-vegetarians (everyone, but me) all liked it and I still have enough for a salad topping for lunch today.

The recipe comes from the July 2009 issue of Real Simple.

Mushroom and Poblano Tostada

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1 poblano pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • Kosher salt and pepper
  • 1 cup of corn kernals (cut fresh from 2 ears of corn)
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 1/2 cup store-bought fresh salsa
  1. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms, poblano, garlic, and season with salt and pepper. Cook until vegetables are tender and liquid has nearly evaporated, 6 to 8 minutes. Stir in the corn.
  2. Heat broiler. Brush tortillas with remaining oil and place on baking sheet. Broil until crisp, about 1 minute per side.
  3. Top tortillas with vegetables and salsa.

Enjoy! Serves four.

Please visit Michele’s Blog–Veggie Num Nums–to see what she cooked up for Vegan Tuesdays.

17 thoughts on “mushroom and poblano tostada

  1. One word: yum! I’ve been craving Mexican food and all of the recipes seem to be doused in about 3 different kinds of cheese. Don’t get me wrong, I love cheese, but I want to try these for a healthier version of Mexican food. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hahahaha yes, these seemigly simple dishes take long with all the chopping! But it looks delicious and well worth the chopping and waving off of people!

  3. This looks amazingly delicious. And I’m sure everyone just wanted to pop in to see how it was coming along — couldn’t wait — it must have been yummy. Love all the colors!

Leave a Reply

