Curried Tempeh-Mango Salad (and Chocolate Chip Cookies)

curried tempah mango salad

I bought tempeh for the first time and was flipping through Vegan with a Vengeance looking for  recipes and saw this one: Curried Tempeh-Mango Salad.  In addition to the tempeh, I had a mango or two that needed to be used . You can read about my relationship with mangoes in yesterday’s post (I bought four just to be safe).

What’s cool about this recipe is that the longer it sits in the refrigerator the better it tastes (flavors melding, etc), so leftovers are wonderful. I ate it in a pita. I’m sure it would be delicious on toasted bread, on naan, on a bed of lettuce. I think it would be good on anything! Crackers as an appetizer. The ideas are endless. I have a feeling I’m going to be making this all summer long. And you know the next time I make it, I’m going to double it.

You can find the recipe HERE.

I also made the Chocolate Chip Cookies out of Vegan with a Vengeance. As with most vegan cookie baking they were so delicious, so easy. I made them using whole-wheat pastry flour to give them a patina of health. Hee!

You can find the recipe HERE.

vegan choc chip cookie

See what Michele of Veggie Num Nums made for Vegan Tuesday HERE.

35 thoughts on “Curried Tempeh-Mango Salad (and Chocolate Chip Cookies)

  1. Thanks for the Wikipedia link for tempeh – I had never heard of it before! Glad you were able to use up the mangoes – everything looks wonderful.

  2. Both look stellar! I’ve never had tempeh before (I’m more of a seitan girl), and it’s been a mighty long time since I’ve had a vegan cookie… inspiring!

  3. Usually, I’m a sweet freak… but today, for some reason (which might absolutely be the fact that it’s amazingly mouthwatering), I’ll have the sandwich, please!🙂

  4. I had a funny feeling I wouldn’t be the only one enjoying extra mangoes.
    I bet this was sooo good. It looks delicious. So summery and fresh. I would love it on top of a salad.

  5. Extra mangoes are never a bad thing and that looks like a fabulous use for them! I have never had success with vegan chocolate chip cookies, those look great!

  6. Both look really good-the salad is especially nice. What did you think of the tempeh? I will eat it once in awhile, but of all the soy products, it is my least favorite. I think it’s a textural thing. My husband really likes it though.

  7. You’re really getting to me with the mango goodness! That salad is so yum, and really, don’t need to say much about the cookies because they are delicious.

  8. Such lovely and healthy vegan recipes! Thanks for sharing! I’ve never seem temph in my store… do you think I could use tofu instead?
    Thanks!

  9. Wow, so are we two-for-two in the not getting injured while cutting mangoes department? Alright! Both of these look delicious – I really need to try the cookies ASAP.

  10. I’ve never had tempeh, but it’s only a matter of time since both my girls lean veg/vegan. This looks like a great introduction to it! Congrats on your victory in the mango skirmishes.

  11. I love Vegan with a Vengeance. It’s such a great book! And that tempeh salad sounds AMAZING. I really need to go get my hands on that book again (my friend let me borrow it once). And those cookies! They look amazing! I think I could eat waaaay too many of them.

  12. Choc chip cookies are my downfall. (not really, but I LOVE them!) And the tempeh looks awesome. Where do you get tempeh? I’ve looked for it in stores and haven’t been able to find it here.

Leave a Reply

