Barbeque Baked Beans in a Bread Bowl

BBQ Baked Beans

I’m eating the most wonderful Barbeque Baked Beans right now for lunch. At my desk, at work, after taking pictures of it in my office. Again, I ask myself, is this what my life has come to? I served myself the beans in a bread bowl made out of the Anadama Sandwich Rolls I made earlier in the week . Anadama Bread + Baked Beans = Wonderful.

I didn’t mention in my original post that I made the Anadama Bread vegan by using shortening instead of butter. I made the Barbequed Baked  Beans for Vegan Tuesday because I had all the ingredients on hand.  I had to bust out my slow cooker which I haven’t used in ages. Really. I think the last time I used was 8 years ago.

The recipe, which comes from the May/June 2009  issue of Vegetarian Times, is great because you just throw in all the ingredients in the slow cooker before you go to bed and it’s ready in the morning. Well, once you soak the beans for 6 hours and then cook them on the stove for 40 minutes. So, once you do that you’re all set to go. :P I used kidney beans instead of navy beans because that is what I had. I also didn’t add the liquid smoke because I don’t have any. You could also speed things up by using three 15-ounce cans of beans instead of making your own.

Barbeque Baked Beans

Adapted from Vegetarian Times
  • 1 1/2 cups dry kidney beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 6 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon prepared yellow mustard
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  1. Soak beans for 6 hours or overnight.
  2. Drain beans and place in large saucepan. Cover with water and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes until beans are just about tender. Add a few pinches of salt and simmer for 10 minutes more until tender. Drain, reserving 3/4 cup of the cooking liquid.
  3. Transfer beans to slow cooker and stir in onions. In a small bowl mix ketchup, brown sugar, maple syrup, mustard, and oil. Stir into slow cooker.  Cover, and cook 6 hours or overnight on low. Season with salt and pepper.

I also made a Mango-Cashew Smoothie. Why is my mango smoothie green? Well, because it has Hemp Protein Powder in it. Hemp Protein apparently has the most complete amino-acid profiles of any plant-based protein. I’ve had unused hemp protein powder in my refrigerator since last summer when I tried to do a 12-day cleanse/fast with disasterous results. I never got to the stage to use the powder because I found out my body is very addicted to caffeine when I woke up on Day 4.

The recipe comes from Brendan Brazier’s Thrive in 30 program. He is a mega tri-athelete who adovates a raw/vegan lifestyle. The Thrive in 30 is a free online program based on his book, Thrive.

Anyway, I wouldn’t say the smoothie is delicious. It actually tastes very healthy. Really, too healthy. If you want to try it, you can find the recipe HERE.

mangosmoothie

Michele of Veggie Num Nums made vegan portobello pockets. Check them out HERE.

32 thoughts on “Barbeque Baked Beans in a Bread Bowl

  1. Yum, those beans look fantastic! I’ve been wanting to make baked beans forever but just haven’t gotten around to it. Your version in the slow cooker sounds super simple!

  2. Perfect timing! I was recently given my grandmother’s vintage bean crock, though nobody in the family seems to have her baked bean recipe… Thanks for sharing- the beans look delicious!

  3. Gosh, you could be a mango-cashew smoothie/hemp protein powder salesperson, Wendy! Well, I’m not too worried about the smoothie, because I am all about dem beans.

  4. I was just saying to myself – where’s Vegan Tuesdays? I haven’t seen it in awhile.

    And then….. there you were! We love baked beans at our house, so this is definitely worth trying – thanks!

    And the smoothie – I’m curious about that.

  5. Oh, I love bread bowls. I don’t like beans though, and your beans actually look and sound really tasty. I’m starting the anadama bread today, and I can’t decide if I should make loaves or rolls. Maybe one loaf and then the rest rolls? Hmmm. Anyway, delicious as always and thanks for sharing!

  6. I love bread-bowling things! I’ll bread -bowl anything really, and beans sounds like an excellent idea! This must have been a really satisfying lunch (I went for overpriced mediocre salad).
    I’ve heard hemp is the perfect healhty food!
    Thanks for sharing the recipes :)

  7. Baked Beans in a bread bowl- that really looks good right now. And the smoothie has me intrigued. I might just try it to see how something tastes when it is too healthy.

  8. Those beans look perfect – not all gloppy like baked beans so often turn out. I would have left out the liquid smoke too – it has such a weird chemically aftertaste – but when I’m avoiding meat I sometimes add 1 or 2 black cardamom pods to get a neat sort of bacony flavor.

  9. My room mate loves to make soup, so I told her I’d make bread bowls for one of her soups one day. It was nice to see how you did this with the baked beans. I have yet to make these bowls, but it’s on my list of things to do. Thank you for the wonderful photos!

  10. Mmmm, sounds amazing! It seems to me like BBQ beans would taste AMAZING with the anadama bread since they both are a little sweet. Yum!!

  11. Good post.
    we need to realize that health is the most precious treasure. Therefore we must always guard it, by paying attention to diet and exercise regularly. With what I’ve read more I’d know how to make this body to remain healthy. Visit my page so we can exchange information about the health of the body.

  12. I added 1/4 tsp of smoked paprika to the beans to add a bit of smoky flavor. It came out really well! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  13. The Dual Clean is a prime rechargeable electric toothbrush from Oral-B
    whose Dual Clean brush has two sections that move and provide double the cleanliness for teeth and gums.

    That tooth brush is an “Oral B Pulsar Soft” toothbrush.

    When you brush too hard or incorrectly you expose the roots of the
    teeth, which are supposed to be below the gums
    and therefore insulated.

Leave a Reply

