{bba} Anadama Sandwich Rolls (and a yummy sandwich)

anadama3

Another week, another group. This week I joined The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge (BBA). Nicole of Pinch My Salt came up with this fun idea. The goal is to bake (in order of appearence) each formula from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. I love this book and have been baking from it for awhile. So far, I’ve baked a total of 13 of the 43 formulas in the book–including the first one for the challenge, Anadama Bread.  You can see my first attempt HERE.

anadama sandwich rolls

Because I made loaves the first time, I decided to make sandwich size rolls this time. The formula makes two 1 1/2 pound loaves or three 1 pound loaves. I was able to make twelve 4-ounce rolls.  Another change I made was to use cane syrup instead of molasses. I’m not a big fan of molasses. I used it the first time I made the bread and I could taste the molasses in it.

anadama2

Oh, boy! These rolls are good. They rose perfectly. The oven spring was amazing. It always amazes me. The baking time was  about 1/2 the length of baking the loaves. They were done at 20 to 22 minutes.

I made veggie sandwiches using the anadama rolls and a recipe from the May/June issue of Vegetarian Times. The original recipe calls for a baguette, which I’m sure is delicious as well. It’s quick and easy and perfect for a hot afternoon. You can add whatever vegetables or other sandwich fillings you have on hand.

anadama

Anadama Sandwich Roll with Roasted Red Pepper Spread

Adapted from Vegetarian Times
  • 1 7-ounce jar roasted red peppers, drained well, finely chopped
  • 1 8-ounce container vegan cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tablespoons finely minced scallions
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (1 teaspoon)
  • 6 4-ounce anadama sandwich rolls
  • 3/4 cup cucumber, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 1 cup mâche
  • 1/2 cup microgreens
  1. Mix red peppers, cream cheese, scallion, and garlic in bowl until well combined.
  2. Half each roll and tear out a bit of the bread from the center of the bottoms  to make space for the fillings.
  3. Spread the cream cheese mixture on the bottoms. Top with cucumber, carrot, mâche, and microgreens. Cover with top half of the roll. Enjoy!

Makes 6 sandwiches.

You can see other BBA Challenge participants loaves on the BBA Flicker Group HERE. Be sure to check them out! Also, search for us on Twitter using #bba.

anadama5

29 thoughts on “{bba} Anadama Sandwich Rolls (and a yummy sandwich)

  1. Thanks for the roll idea, the amount of rolls you made, and the 4 ounce portion size…also the baking time. I am knew at this and I appreciate all these details. Photos are great…loved your first post on the loaves also. Thanks!

  2. Sigh. You are so ambitious, and for someone who claims to not have been able to cook a year ago, you certainly have accomplished quite a bit.

    And what’s worse, you make it seem so easy!

  3. Beautiful rolls! And the red pepper spread sounds amazing (even though I’d probably substitute chevre or another non-vegan creamy cheese).
    I just picked up BBA, but totally missed the deadline to join the group (though I’ve emailed a plea to be allowed to join, despite my tardiness).

  4. oh gosh those look divine! i want one of those for lunch!! now i’ve just got to make the bread again and make it into rolls! your crumb looks so soft! very nice.

  5. Awesome, they look great! I tried hamburg/sandwich rolls just once and they were goofy looking. Too small I guess.
    So you used 4 oz per roll and you roll the dough and cut with something?
    Thanks for the help.
    Susie

  6. I LOVE how you made rolls! I made loaves, but definitely want to do rolls next time. Your sandwiches look delicious. Like Teanna, I want to know your secrets for making everything perfect.

  7. Woo hoo! I just made the bread loaves. I planning on making rolls, but ran out of time. Now I wish I had! Those look fantastic! Now I now for next time. Great job!

  8. Mmm they look so perfectly tall and soft and fluffy! I’m not a big fan of molasses taste either, good idea on the substitution – i think i’d love these (but i’m kind of a wuss when it comes to using yeast)

  9. AH! If only… I could bake. I could also make just as beautiful sandwiches as yours… colourful, vibrant and super healthy!
    Very appealing for the eye!

  10. These rolls are lovely! Great job. I am tempted to join another baking group, but I’m not sure if I have the time or energy! You must be a very organized woman to keep up with so many groups!

  11. Very nice rolls! I was thinking of making muffins next time. I don’t like the molasses too much. What exactly did you use when you say “cane syrup”? I am thinking of using something other than molasses.

  12. Looks great, Wendy! I made rolls with part of my Anadama dough, but smaller than yours. I did 8 two-ounce rolls, and baked them in an 8-inch round pan. I like the idea of using cane syrup instead of the molasses. I’ll have to try that next time.

Leave a Reply

