Asparagus, Fingerling Potato, and Goat Cheese Pizza

pizza-2

I’m slowly making my way through  Daring Bakers challenges that occurred prior to me joining the group.  For October 2008, the host challenged the group to make Pizza Napoletana from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Bakers Apprentice.

This challenge called my name–I have the book and I love making from scratch pizza. One part of the challenge was to perform the authentic pizza dough toss. I did attempt it and the results were disastrous. One reason (and rather than my own inadequacies) my performance was sub par could have been that I reduced the size of the pizzas from 6 ounce to 4 ounce.

To top the pizza, I used a recipe I found in the May (already???) 2009 issue of Bon Appetit for Asparagus, Fingerling Potato, and Goat Cheese Pizza. In addition to goat cheese, the pizza is also topped with mozzarella and Parmesan.

The pizza was wonderful. The crust was thin and crunchy and flavorful, due to the delayed fermentation. Unlike most other pizza dough recipes that can be thrown together at the last minute, this one requires an overnight in the refrigerator. The toppings were great. I’ve never had potato on a pizza before and I had been wanting to try it. I loved it. I’m definitely adding it to my topping rotation. And goat cheese–enough said. :P

You can find the recipe for the pizza dough  HERE at Rosa’s Yummy Yums, the host of the October 2008 Daring Bakers Challenge.

The recipe for topping the  pizza is  HERE.

pizza

20 thoughts on “Asparagus, Fingerling Potato, and Goat Cheese Pizza

  1. That pizza dough recipe is divine, isn’t it? I have PR’s American Pie and it’s a really fantastic book if you like to make pizza at home. It’s like the Bread Baker’s Apprentice only it’s devoted entirely to pizza. The first half of the book is the story of his search for great pizza and it’s really interesting.
    You had me at asparagus and goat cheese, yum! I love the addition of the potatoes too. I bet that your pizza was so delicious!

  2. wow, that sounds CRAZY DELICIOUS. sorry to hear baout your disastrous tossing attempt – i bet mine would be similar if i tried that. there might wind up being a dough covered shih-tzu in my house if i ever decide to give it a shot! (not that she would mind much) :)

  3. This is a terrific looking pizza Pinkstripes – I love the sound of the topping. This Daring Bakers challenge was a surprisingly fun one, so I am glad that you have had the chance to go back and try it.

  4. We stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

