World Meatout Day

Today is the 25th Anniversary of Meatout Day. This year’s theme is Change your diet, change your world. Meatout.org also has a weekly newsletter called Meatout Mondays. One of the suggestions to help the earth and the environment is to eat less meat and to cut out meat on Mondays.

I started Vegan Tuesdays because I figured meatless Mondays wouldn’t be a big change for me because I rarely eat meat and can go weeks and weeks without eating it. The logical next step {for me} was to go vegan one day a week and that’s what I did. I never imagined that the food would be so wonderful and the baking so fun. It’s been so great that I secretly started doing Vegan Thursdays about a month ago.

Here are some great vegan cooking/recipe websites:

Post Punk Kitchen–blog, forums, recipes from the authors of Veganomicon.

vegan yumyum–blog with wonderful photography and recipes.

Vegan Dad–blog by a Dad with two kids, great fun and easy recipes.

Fatfree Vegan Kitchen–sounds horrible, but it’s not belive me. The food is great. It’s not all fatfree, just healthy.

Vegetarian Times–the magazine’s website. Wonderful recipes and information.

There are a whole lot of others out there, but I haven’t had time to check them out.

Finally, some vegan cupcakes to celebrate World Meatout Day:

Caramel-Apple-Spice Cupcakes with Caramel Penuche Frosting

imgp4277

The recipe comes from Veganomicon and wasn’t as easy as some of my past vegan baking. This recipe has you carmelizing diced apples for the cupcake and making penuche, an old-fashioned fudge like candy, for the frosting. Even though they were a bit more work, the flavor was outstanding. The combination of the carmelized apples, cinnamon, nutmeg blended well with caramel flavoring of the frosting which was complemented by the saltiness of the chopped peanuts on top.

6 thoughts on “World Meatout Day

  1. Wow, those cupcakes look totally amazing! What a great day! Thanks for all the wonderful links. I think Meatout is a great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love salty peanuts with a sweet dessert, thanks for the link to Vegetarian Times – I’ll check it out.
    We go vegan about once a week too, generally for my university student daughter who is sensitive to foods but comes home for a good home-cooked feast, feels good though.🙂

Leave a Reply

