{TWD} Frozen Lemon-Lime Cup Custard with Candied Lemon Bits

imgp3895

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe selection was Lemon Cup Custard. As you may or may not know, I’m a ice cream freak. I love all sorts of frozen treats and all sorts of flavors. I do have my favorites, of course, but I will try anything once.Given the opportunity, I will turn anything into ice cream and that’s what I did this week.

I’m still eating my way through my boozy Prune-Armagnac Ice Cream with Dark Chocolate Truffles. It makes me feel a bit rebellious every time I have a serving.¬† It’s dark and smoky and should be eaten under the cover of darkness. On the other end of the spectrum is the ice cream I made this week: Frozen Lemon-Lime Cup Custard. It’s flavor is bright and refreshing and it is best eaten in the middle of the day when the sun is the brightest.

I made a 1/2 recipe. Not intentionally, when I set out to make it I only had 2 eggs and not the 4 eggs required. I did not half the amount of zest. In fact, I used the zest of a whole lemon and the zest of a whole lime. The original recipe calls for the zest of a whole lemon. I followed the recipe as directed until it got to the part about baking the custard in the oven. Instead I cooked it a bit on the stove until it thickened a bit and then strained it into a container which I placed in the refrigerator to chill overnight.

imgp3923

Once throughly chilled, I whipped up a 1/2 cup of heavy cream with some lemon oil and lime oil and folded it into the custard base prior to pouring it into my ice cream maker. I read somewhere that whipping the heavy cream and folding it into the base  in homemade frozen custard helps give it that airy feel you get from ice cream shop frozen custards.

I also made the candied lemon slices from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop. I would have made lime slices, but I used my last lime for the custard. I chopped up the slices into bits and used them to top my frozen custard.

Man, oh man, was this good. The lemon and lime flavors were outstanding. Overall, it was a refreshing and successful dessert. Thank you to Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles for selecting this recipe out of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours. Please visit Bridget’s blog for the original recipe.

imgp3891