Farro with Green Onion Sauce, Toasted Walnuts, and Asparagus

{This is my 100th Post! Yay!}

imgp3650

Farro.What is it? Farro is a whole-grain, similar to wheat, grown in Italy. Unlike spelt or wheatberries, it remains crunchy when you cook it.  It has a nutty, earthy taste with some complex undertones of oats and barley.

imgp3647

It took me forever to find farro. I looked in (1)Whole Foods, (2)Trader Joes, (3)Bristol Farms, (4)the local crunchy-granola health food store, (5)Henry’s, (6)Vons. I finally found it at Surfas, which I probably would have gone sooner if it wasn’t an hour drive.  I was determined to find it and my determination paid off. The taste is out of this world.  If  you find some, buy it and cook with it.

imgp3668

Farro with Green Onion Sauce, Toasted Walnuts, and Asparagus was the next recipe for me to try out of Super Natural Cooking. In addition to the farro, which is the star of the recipe, the green onion sauce is absolutely amazing in taste and simplicity. It’s chopped up green onions, sauteed with a bit of olive oil and salt. The onions are then slightly pureed with a hand blender. That’s it!

imgp3670

Once the farro is almost done cooking, you add in the asparagus, toasted walnuts, lemon zest. Season with salt (I also added freshly squeezed lemon juice–I didn’t want the lemon to go to waste after taking its zest :p ). Serve it by topping with the green onion sauce, creme fraiche, and some parm cheese.

You can find the recipe here.

imgp3689

8 thoughts on “Farro with Green Onion Sauce, Toasted Walnuts, and Asparagus

  1. If you had that much trouble finding it, I’ll never be able to locate it here. I wonder if Surfas ships? I;ll have to check that out, because that dish looks really great!

  2. I’ve seen this at Surfas and think of as one of those “ingredients found in restaurants.” And there you go making a delicious dish at home! Awesome! And congrats on your 100th post! I so enjoy reading your blog! Looking forward to 100 more!

  3. Congrats on reaching post No. 100! I have never heard of Farro before, so I enjoyed reading this post. This dish sounds delish – love the toasted walnut addition.

  4. I’ve seen someone on Food Network shopping in Surfa’s and always thought that would be a great place to spend some time! Congrats on your 100th post – and best wishes for many, many, many more!

  5. Um, YUM! This sounds so delicious. I was actually reading about Farro in Health magazine the other day, and I knew I needed to add it to my stash of barley, quinoa, and wheatberries. And, now that I’ve seen this recipe, I know that I can’t delay.

Leave a Reply

