{TWD} The Cover Cake

imgp3449

This week’s Tuesday with Dorie recipe is the famous COVER CAKE, or otherwise known as the Devil’s Food White Out Cake. It’s the cake that is on the cover of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours, the book we are baking our way through.

Because it was the COVER CAKE, I baked and assembled it as directed, word-for-word. No substitutions or cupcakes for me.πŸ˜›

The cake batter was delicious and they baked perfectly. I was able to slice through the cakes cleanly to make the three layers, plus one layer for crumbling. My only difficulty was the frosting.Β  The frosting came together fine and was delicious, but I don’t think there was enough to spread a generous amount between the layers like Dorie says. By the time I got to frosting the top of the cake, there was barely enough. I actually had to lift the layers and sneak some out to use for the top.

The good thing about the frosting shortage was that the cake is covered with the crumbled fourth layer. Now I was super-generous with covering my cake with crumbles and I still had a bunch of crumbles left over.Β  So I stuck them in the freezer and ended up using them to make Devil’s Food White Out Cake Ice Cream.

imgp3605

I made my go to Philadelphia-style vanilla ice cream base from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop (Seriously, I’ve made this so many times I can’t count. And you have to use all-cream. YUM.). I placed it in my ice cream maker and ran it for 5 minutes or so, then added the cake crumbles. Once done, I placed it in my container along with little tablespoon scoops of marshmallow fluff.Β  The ice cream was very, very delicious.

Thank you to Stephanie of Confessions of a City Eater, who finally chose the COVER CAKE. It was very delicious and I’ll definitely make it again for a special occasion. Please visit her blog for the recipe or buy the book.

50 thoughts on “{TWD} The Cover Cake

  1. Yea, Dorie came…..so fun. I can even see the chunks of chocolate in the cake crumbs on top of your cake. Me too, tempted to rob frosting from between the layers. Your cake looks so yummy and can I have mine with your ice cream too?
    AmyRuth

  2. Oooh, love it! The cake and ice cream look so tasty. I agree about the frosting. I could have used more too, it was hard to make it as ‘fluffy’ looking as on the cover with that much frosting.

  3. Your cake looks good but I have to say it’s the ice cream that has me smackin my lips!!! Sounds delish!

    I have a 40% off coupon for borders I’m gonna pick up that book you’re the 2nd or 3rd blogger that has recently raved about that ice cream in the past day or so!
    ~ingrid

  4. Great idea to add the extra crumbles to ice cream. I had a ton of extra crumbles due to a mishap unmolding one of my layers – should have thought of that! Your cake looks wonderful, too.

  5. Cake looks fantastic. Chocolate white out ice cream!!! Perfect.

    I ran out of frosting, too. But cake looked good with no frosting on sides, so I left it that way.

Leave a Reply

