{TWD} Floating Islets

When I hear the words Floating Islands, this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, I picture this:

imgp2882

Apparently, Floating Islands (in French, Ile flottante) in the dessert world are more like this:

imgp3577

From "Baking...From My Home to Yours" Dorie Greenspan page 403

A dessert consisting of islands of meringues, floating in a sea of  crème anglaise. Crème anglaise is pretty much unfrozen French vanilla ice cream. Maybe a little thicker.

But, because when I picture this:

imgp2434

I think of this:

And even though it is only February, bathing suit season is fast approaching…

imgp3602

…So I made mini-floating islands or Floating Islets for better portion control. I floated my islets in a tiny bit of  crème anglaise, drizzled a bit of homemade lemon {lemon screams ‘light’ even though it is not} caramel syrup (recipe from David Lebovitz‘s The Perfect Scoop), and added a couple blackberries {fruit screams ‘light’ too}.

imgp3585

Each little bowl holds two teaspoonfuls of crème anglaise,  my smallest scooper ( 1 1/2 teaspoons) of meringue, 2 blackberries, and a drizzle of lemon carmel syrup.

imgp3595

The end result was perfect. The crème anglaise was heaven, the lemon caramel syrup was ‘light’😛 and refreshing {although I do have to work on my forking technique–instead of fine strands, I got drops} and paired well with the blackberries, and the meringue truly was light and ethereal.

imgp3582

Thanks to Shari of Whisk: a food blog who is hosting this week. Please visit her blog to get the recipe.

Phew! Now I’m safe to do this…

imgp2812

59 thoughts on “{TWD} Floating Islets

  1. Thanks for reminding me about bathing suit season, yikes! I didn’t have to worry this week but I am a little nervous about not being able to say no to another slice of next weeks TWD pick. Anyway, your floating islets look lovely, I love the blackberry garnish and the lemon caramel sounds amazing. Great job making minis!

  2. How pretty! Mine didn’t win any awards in the scenic island category, but this was so much fun to do and I learned a lot. The lemon caramel syrup sounds wonderful!

  3. Those look AMAZING! I love the blackberry additions… I think the same thing when I think of “floating islands”. Little tropical islands in the south pacific.🙂

  4. Wowwy, Pinkstripes… yours look even wayyyyyy better than Dorie’s!!!
    …and with lemon syrup, must have make it so nice!
    Very, very well done! A little taste of paradise… (sigh)

  5. Love this, the minis are adorable. I also had visions of bikinis when I decided not to make this recipe. I still made meringues but with some lighter accompaniments.

  6. I am going to South Beach in Miami in April. I should stop eating my desserts.

    Your minis look awesome. Mine was boring. It tasted too eggy and the hubs wasn’t a fan of the custard. Oh well, we are simpletons that way. Feed us cake instead . . wait, got to remember South Beach. Ugh!😉

  7. Those look heavenly but “light”!! LOL! Do you know what they scream to me? grab me & eat me now!!

    Great photos too! I wanna be on the cruise ship in my bikini eating one or two of those while sailing to some gorgeous remote island!
    ~ingrid

  8. What a great post. I haven’t made mine yet but I’m going to try to this evening. I definitely want to go the tiny route as well although I know that I won’t be near as creative as you were!

  9. yikes, bathing suit weather is coming up way too soon. i love the lighter version you made, the lemon caramel sounds fantastic.

  10. Ooh I love the addition of lemon, lemon and custard go so well together, as well as the addition of the blackberries. Now you have me brainstorming which fruits to add to mine the next time around🙂

  11. Take it from me – PORTION CONTROL IS NEVER SEXY. However, running around in one’s bikini is pretty much the best thing ever, except for when one is running around in one’s bikini with an awesome meringue dessert. You are the whip for making this – good job. I am totally impressed. You could wear an outfit exactly like MIA’s at the grammys, and I will still bow down in wholehearted respect and admiration.

  12. Your floating islands look wonderful! I love that you made little individual ones. These weren’t my favorite, but I’m glad so many of the other TWD bakers enjoyed them.

  13. With just two teaspoons of crème anglaise, you are doing no damage regarding the swim suit situation. My problem would be eating all 15 mini portions myself! The berries are a great addition.

  14. Thanks for reminding me of bathing suit season! After I’ve eaten 3 batches of this! Ugh. Your islets are perfect, though. Thanks for baking along with me this week. BTW, I have an award for you over at my post!

  15. I really wish I could just indulge in one of your “light” portions. It sounds fabulous and looks beautiful. I love your pictures and thanks for the reminder about bathing suits being around the corner! oh no!!!

  16. AH! You are so right about bathing suit season! Way to make the tiny floating islands for the portion control! I’m all about the portion control! They look great!

  17. Great idea to make everything “light”!
    I thought about using 2% milk.. but didn’t
    know what I would end up with.. its good
    to have health in mind while cooking.
    I love how your islands came out.
    Thanks for visiting me!

  18. Wendy! Love the Minis. They are just the right size for those of us trying to cut down. Now if we could just make sugar-free caramel… (NOT!!!!)

  19. My problem would be that I would eat 5 or 6 of your little beauties, LOL.

    My vote for “cutest TWD entry” definitely goes to your adorable little island-ettes.

  20. I went the mini route too, but it just meant I ate more😛 Yours are absolutely adorable, and now I need to pull out my copy of The Perfect Scoop to find that lemon caramel syrup.

Leave a Reply

