{TWD} Floating Islets

When I hear the words Floating Islands, this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection, I picture this:

imgp2882

Apparently, Floating Islands (in French, Ile flottante) in the dessert world are more like this:

imgp3577

From "Baking...From My Home to Yours" Dorie Greenspan page 403

A dessert consisting of islands of meringues, floating in a sea of  crème anglaise. Crème anglaise is pretty much unfrozen French vanilla ice cream. Maybe a little thicker.

But, because when I picture this:

imgp2434

I think of this:

And even though it is only February, bathing suit season is fast approaching…

imgp3602

…So I made mini-floating islands or Floating Islets for better portion control. I floated my islets in a tiny bit of  crème anglaise, drizzled a bit of homemade lemon {lemon screams ‘light’ even though it is not} caramel syrup (recipe from David Lebovitz‘s The Perfect Scoop), and added a couple blackberries {fruit screams ‘light’ too}.

imgp3585

Each little bowl holds two teaspoonfuls of crème anglaise,  my smallest scooper ( 1 1/2 teaspoons) of meringue, 2 blackberries, and a drizzle of lemon carmel syrup.

imgp3595

The end result was perfect. The crème anglaise was heaven, the lemon caramel syrup was ‘light’ :P and refreshing {although I do have to work on my forking technique–instead of fine strands, I got drops} and paired well with the blackberries, and the meringue truly was light and ethereal.

imgp3582

Thanks to Shari of Whisk: a food blog who is hosting this week. Please visit her blog to get the recipe.

Phew! Now I’m safe to do this…

imgp2812