Nutella is always good

Today is World Nutella Day!!!

For some unknown reason, Nutella is not as big a thing in the United States as it is in the rest of the world. Groceries in the US , if they have it at all, place Nutella way up high on a small little portion of shelf next to the infinite varieties of Peanut Butter. To me, Nutella is heaven on earth and it is a mystery why we don’t have shelves and shelves of it.

I was recently in a grocery store in Pape’ete, Tahiti and when I saw this I just had to take a picture:

imgp2340

A Wall of Nutella!!

So thank you to Ms Adventures in Italy, Bleeding Espresso, and World Nutella Day for creating and coordinating  World Nutella Day.

imgp3523

In honor of World Nutella Day, I made Sugared Puff Pastry Crisps with Nutella. I meant to add sliced banana, but I ate all of the bananas. :P  There really is no recipe for this, it’s more of an assembly-type thing.

You take packaged puff pastry, roll it to 12″ x12″. Cut out 2″ circles, brush a little bit of melted butter on both sides,  and press each circle into sugar (I used vanilla sugar this time). Lay each prepared circle on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Cover with another piece of parchment paper and then place another cookie sheet on top of it. Bake at 400 F for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely on a rack.  Slather on the Nutella and enjoy! YUM!

imgp3520

Or you can just eat Nutella straight from the jar with a spoon, which is always good. :P

imgp3527

Updated: OMG, I can’t believe I forgot to include this picture also from Pape’ete, a Nutella Macaron:imgp2351