Brussels Sprouts! and other good stuff

Another Vegan Tuesdayimgp3258

I never bought or cooked brussels sprouts until this week. I don’t know why. Maybe childhood trauma? I don’t think so. I was never forced to eat anything. Anyway, up until this past Sunday I’ve been eyeing the brussels sprouts for sale at the farmers’ market and they had been eyeing me back. {This is usual behavior for me at the farmers’ market. Vegetables tend to eye me especially ones I’m scared to buy.} I had enough of the staring and bought a bunch. I’m glad I did. Not only are they delicious, they contain a bunch of good stuff too–vitamins a and c, folic acid, and lots of fiber.

imgp3263

In the February 2009  issue of Vegetarian Times there is a yummy recipe for Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts and Dried Cranberries.

  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 medium shallots, halved and sliced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup coursely chopped dried cranberries
  • 1 tablespoon agave syrup
  • 1 tablespoon walnut oil
  • Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add walnuts to dry pan. Stir occasionally, until walnuts are nice and toasty about 3 to 4 minutes. Remove walnuts and set aside.
  2. Wipe out pan and add olive oil. When hot, add brussels sprouts and saute, stirring occasionally, until they start to brown–about 5 minutes. Add garlic and shallots and cook for another minute.
  3. Add water, cranberries,  and agave. Partially cover pan and reduce heat. Simmer for 5 to 7 minutes until most of the liquid has evaporated.
  4. Transfer to serving bowl and stir in walnut oil and toasted walnuts. Season with salt and pepper.

I also made another recipe from Veganomicon, Israeli Couscous with Pistachios and Apricots. You can find the recipe here.

imgp3251

This was my first time eating and cooking Israeli couscous, which is different not only size from regular couscous but also texture. I loved it and definitely will had it as a pantry staple. I realize most of my dinner recipes I  have been blogging about lately are some sort of grain-y product, with nuts, and fruits/veggies. For some reason, these are the types of recipes that are calling out to me.😛

imgp3262

12 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts! and other good stuff

  1. Oh, yum! I love brussels sprouts, they are one of my favorite veggies, not sure why they have such a bad rap. That recipe sounds delicious! Also love the sound of the pistachio apricot couscous, I have a box of Israeli couscous in the pantry that I just had to buy, but haven’t gotten around to trying yet. Thanks for the inspiration🙂

  2. We love Brussels sprouts in our house – my dad thinks my kids are weird because they eat them! I’m glad your encounter with them was a good one, because who knows what you might have done to them next time you caught them staring at you…..

  3. I’ve never made brussel sprouts either but I’ve seen so many delicious recipes lately (yours included!) that I think I just might need to give them a shot!

  4. Oh I LOOVE Brussel sprouts. I never even ate them until college. Apparently my parents had some bad childhood memories that went along with them so they never made them for us. My husband won’t eat them either no matter how I cook them (and I have tried some very tempting recipes). Awell! More for me! These look SOO good!

  5. I never ate brussels as a kid… my mom didn’t like them, so she never made them. The few times I remember seeing them at family gatherings I just figured since they looked like little cabbages they’d be bad.
    Now I love them! (and cabbage too!) I like taking them apart so they’re just leaves and giving them a quick sautee (with some lardons when I have them).

  6. Thank you for being here. I was reminded yesterday that we were having a potluck dinner at our church today. went home and checked the latest Vegetarian Times for a recipe. and tried the above brussel sprout recipe. Had numerous requests to e-mail the recipe.You have it on line even before the VT magazine does. I used bermuda onion in place of shallots, Maple syrup in place of the agave syrup and walnut oil. and added butter to melt down in the dish on completion. I am not vegan, not even a vegetarian Its just that the best recipes exist there.

Leave a Reply

