Herbed Fougasse and Winter Caprese Salad

imgp3130

Fougasse is the French version of the Italian foccacia. It’s dimpled and full of olive oil goodness. It also was the next recipe for me to bake in The Art & Soul of Baking. I flavored my fougasse with fresh rosemary and thyme, but like it’s cousin, you can flavor or load with other herbs or treats–cheese, olives, basil. The sky’s the limit. It was very easy to make.

imgp3135

In this month’s Gourmet, there is a recipe for Winter Caprese Salad (the very last page if you have the magazine). As you all know, I love Caprese Salad. The minute I saw it in the magazine I knew I had to make it. What makes it “winter”? Instead of using raw tomatoes, you roast plum tomatoes. It was very delicious, but nothing compares to a summer Caprese Salad using tomatoes at their peak. I can’t wait….7 months and counting!

Winter Caprese Salad

Adapted from the January 2009 issue of Gourmet
  • 1 pound plum tomatoes, quarted lengthwise.
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 pound fresh mozzarella log, sliced  in rounds1/4 inch thick.
  • a handful of fresh basil
  • Balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and freshly ground pepper.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F with a rack in the middle. Toss tomatoes with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Place tomatoes in baking dish cut side up and roast in oven for 45 minutes or so. When the tomatoes are ready, the skins should be wrinkely and the bottoms should begin to brown. Remove from oven and cool completely.

Slice basil thinly. Assemeble cheese and roasted tomatoes by alternating them on a plate and sprinkling with basil. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Season with freshly ground pepper. Enjoy!

Makes 4 servings.

imgp3133

14 thoughts on “Herbed Fougasse and Winter Caprese Salad

  1. The fougasse looks amazing! I would love to have a slice straight out of the oven. Not much better than fresh hot bread, in my opinion. Both look delicious.

  2. I saw that recipe for roasted tomato caprese, and since my husband loves caprese, I thought about making it. But now that I know it works, I’ll definitely give it a try. Thanks!

  3. I love The Art and Soul of Baking. I need to make more out of it. Lately I’ve been making things from Nick Maglieri’s The Modern Baker.

    I love Caprese salad in the summer. I haven’t even looked at my new Gourmet issue. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

