Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-Fry

imgp3160

This week I made a Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-Fry for my Vegan Tuesday. The thing about stir-fries is that they take a lot of preparation, but once you are prepped they come together quickly. Because knife skills are not what I’m known for, the prep took a long time. I try to use proper technique. I really do, but I’m slow as heck. And I absolutely have to concentrate on what I’m cutting. There was this running joke among my friends that they were going to have to buy me steel-mesh gloves for Christmas. I am happy to report there were no injuries in the making of this dish.😛

I got the recipe from one of my new-to-me cookbooks, Veganomicon. Not only is there chopped pineapple in this dish, the quinoa is cooked in pineapple juice which takes the flavor to the next level.  Overall, the stir-fry was very delicious and I definitely will make it again. YUM!

Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-Fry

Adapted from Veganomican.

Quinoa:

  • 1 cup quinoa, well rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/4 teaspoon soy sauce

Stir-fry:

  • 4 ounces raw and unsalted cashews
  • 3 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 2 scallions, sliced thinly
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 habanero, sliced very thinly {the original recipe calls for a hot red chile, I used habanero b/c I like the heat}
  • 1/2-inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, rolled and sliced into thin shreds
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint
  • 10 ounces fresh pineapple, cut into bite-size chunks
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons water {the original recipe calls for vegetable stock, I didn’t have any on hand}
  • 1 tablespoon mirin
  • Lime wedges for garnish
  1. Prepare quinoa first: combine quinoa, juice, water, and soy sauce in a medium-size pot. Cover and place over high-heat, and bring to boil. Stir a few times, reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and cook for 12 to 14 minutes or until all the liquid has been absorbed and quinoa appears plump and slightly translucent. If you’ve never cooked quinoa, it’s totally cool. When it’s done little white tendrils escape from the grain. Uncover, fluff, and let cool. For best results, refridgerate quinoa overnight. Fluff with fork when ready to use.
  2. Use a large non-stick skillet or wok. Place the cashews in the dry pan and heat over low heat until lightly toasted–4 to 5 minutes.
  3. Remove cashews, increase heat to medium and add peanut oil, scallions, and garlic. When the garlic starts to sizzle, add the habenero and ginger. Stir-fry for approximately 2 minutes, then add bell pepper and frozen peas. Cook until peas are bright green and bell pepper is tender. Add the basil and mint, and stir for another minute before adding the pineapple and quinoa.
  4. In a measuring cup, combine the soy sauce, water, and mirin. Pour over quinoa mixture. Stir to incorporate completely and coat the quinoa. Continue to stir-fry for 10 to 14 minutes, until quinoa is very hot. Add toasted cashews and stir for one minute.
  5. Serve with lime wedges and additional soy sauce. Enjoy!

imgp3161

7 thoughts on “Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-Fry

  1. This looks great, what a cute picture. All you need are some chopsticks! I have never cooked with quinoa but I just might have to try this one, the pineapple chunks look so juicy and delicious.🙂

  2. This sounds and looks totally amazing to me. I love quinoa so much, but have to make another trip to the health foods store to get more. I made a recipe from that book that I saw on another blog. Do you love the cookbook? I was thinking about grabbing it soon.

Leave a Reply

