{TWD} Heading to Taha’a

The market in Papeete

The market in Papeete

Today we are at sea on the way to Taha’a, which produces 80% of the vanilla grown in Tahiti. When we were here last year, before I started baking, I didn’t understand the importance of Tahitian vanilla beans. Now that I know, I’m going to stock up on {relatively} cheap vanilla.

Tahitian vanilla, YUM!

Tahitian vanilla, YUM!

Heather of Randomosity and the Girl chose Buttery Jam Cookies for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe.

jamcookie

I loved this recipe. It came together easily and required no refrigeration prior to baking. I used apricot jam and added candied ginger.

jamcookie2

I made this cookie Thanksgiving weekend, along with the Linzer Sables and Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies, prior to our vacation. I brought in a plate with all three cookies to work.

jamcookie6

Because of my vacation and the holidays, my co-workers won’t see me or my baking for three weeks. My hope was that this plate of cookies was a good send-off.

jamcookie3

17 thoughts on “{TWD} Heading to Taha’a

  1. I hope your vacation is going well and that you are having a fabulous time. While I’m sure your co-workers miss you and your baking, I’ll bet they were appreciative of that plate of cookies before you left!

  2. I am soooo jealous of your “BARGAIN” ah ha T vanilla beans. They are the Premium bean in my estimation. I have an amazing vanilla ice cream recipe out of a Maida Heatter book that uses 3 forms of vanilla. So decadent . One of them being Tahitian vanilla beans. Let me know if you want I can email it. Glad you had a wonderful vacation and read on girlie.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

