{TWD} Arborio Rice Pudding

imgp2193

I was looking foreword to the Tuesdays with Dorie recipe this week. (1) I love Rice Pudding and (2) I didn’t have run around town buying special ingredients or weird pans. I’ve made rice pudding before and it’s not that hard to make. I also read Dorie Greenspan’s comments on the time misprint for this recipe in her book Baking: From My Home to Yours.

twd-11_18Isabelle of Les gourmandises d’Isa picked, Arborio Rice Pudding, White, Black (Or Both) for the week. Rice pudding only has 4 (5 if you count water) ingredients: Rice, Milk, Sugar, Vanilla. The flavors are pure.

imgp2194Knowing all that I knew going into this recipe, it should have turned out better. Mine didn’t thicken up. I extended the cooking time to 60 minutes, but I think the low setting was too low on my stove. Next time I will set it to medium-low. Regardless, it was quite tasty and even more so with the addition of my homemade blueberry jam.

Try Jamie Oliver’s recipe for Creamy Rice Pudding with the Quickest Strawberry Jam for a easy (and low-fat!) rice pudding that is also very delicious. He cooks the rice in the milk instead of cooking the rice first.

46 thoughts on “{TWD} Arborio Rice Pudding

  1. This was a tasty recipe even though the directions were off, I have to agree. Jamie Oliver’s recipe sounds wonderful, thanks for sharing. Also that blueberry jam has my mouth watering, I think you could put that on just about anything and it would taste amazing.

  2. I want some of your homemade blueberry jam! It sounds so good with your pudding. I only made vanilla, but I love reading how everyone dressed it up in different flavor ways. Great job on yours.

  3. Yum, that sounds wonderful with the homemade jam! Thanks for the tip about another recipe to try. I’m interested in getting Rice Pudding down pat after the mishaps this week!πŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t know there was a misprint but I did turn the heat up a bit and cook a little longer. I had made this type before and had an idea of what texture to look for. Otherwise I would have had soupy pudding like some of the others.
    The addition of the jam sounds great – I will have to check out Jamie’s version too.
    Cheers!

  5. I am beginning to think that was my problem too, that the stove was on too low. Oh well, I guess that just gives me an excuse to make this again and do it better! The blueberry jam sounds delish on top!

  6. Ooh, the blueberry jam sounds like it would make anything good!
    And I’d like a serving of that squash lasagna I just saw a few posts back, too, please!πŸ˜‰

  7. The Janie Oliver version makes more sense to me. I didn’t understand the point of using a starchy rice like Arborio and then parboil all of the starch away. Your idea of combining it with blueberry jam (homemade no less!) sounds delicious.

  8. Okay you have been busy, rice pudding, muffins, sorbet and monkey bread…..breathe. Hey, did you put a schmear of that home made blueberrry stuff on your Kugel toasted? That would also be divine I think. Your rice sounds delish especially with the bb’s. OMG! The parboil/rinse step was a little confusing to me as well. I just wonder if she wanted the rice to be softer? I just don’t know? Thanks for stopping by.
    AmyRuth

  9. Homemade blueberry jam?! What are you, an overachiever or something?πŸ™‚ Kidding aside, it looks super yummy with the jam. I think I’d enjoy it more that way than plain… something to try another time – maybe Jamie Oliver’s recipe next time!

  10. Neat idea to add the jam. I was in a hurry, so I cooked mine over medium heat instead of low. I had to keep a closer eye on it, but it turned out pretty good.

  11. Did you say “homemade” blueberry jam? Now that’s impressive.

    My pudding flopped, but I’ve seen some clever adaptations and I’ll just have to try again.

  12. I had to chuckle at the photo of your ingredients…I also bought arborio rice from Surfas, milk from T. Joes — we must have the same grocery shopping route!!!

    Swirling in jam sounds like a great idea….

  13. My mom also makes a rice pudding/porridge that cooks the rice with the milk, slowly adding it and stirring like a risotto. I think it’s a great method.
    Your addition of blueberry jam sounds so yummy!

  14. Your pudding looks wonderful with that little dollop of jam! I will have to try the Jamie Oliver recipe too. I wondered as I was making this one, why are we not cooking the rice in the milk? Seems like it would help thicken it up…

  15. it looks great with that blueberry jam on top! yum. sorry it didn’t thicken up for you… personally i’m going to add a little more rice next time!

  16. mmmm. it still manages to look very very appealing to the palate! love the jam!

    me, i’m turning green seeing everyone’s lovely rice puddings! i may even muster enough courage to try again! with..sushi rice..if I really can’t get m’hands on arborio!

  17. The simplicity of this recipe was indeed refreshing, but the rinsing of rice was definitely confusing.

    Your jam addition was positively inspired, I tell you. And thanks for the Jamie Oliver recipe – now I have four recipes to contemplate as I get ready to make rice pudding this weekend.

Leave a Reply

