Ice Cream Flavor of the Week: Fleur de Lait

icfw-fleur-de-lait2

Once we become adults, most of us give up drinking tall cool glasses of milk.  Sure we drink our lattes and cappuccinos, eat our morning bowls of cereal.

This week’s ice gream recipe evokes the childhood memory of a pure and simple glass of milk. The clean taste of milk is the star of this frozen treat. {I think it is technically a sorbet/sherbet} No other flavors are added.

icfw-fleur-de-lait

The recipe for Fleur de Lait (“Flower of Milk”) comes from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop. If I haven’t convinced you yet to buy this book, this should.

icfw-fleur-de-lait3

I sprinkled my scoop with chocolate-covered sunflower seeds. Fleur de Lait does not need anything added to it, but I’m addicted to them! These are so delicious and unusual tasting. You can find them at Trader Joes. YUM!

3 thoughts on “Ice Cream Flavor of the Week: Fleur de Lait

  1. Looks tasty! I love the rainbow colors of the sunflower seeds. I’ve borrowed The Perfect Scoop from the library, but haven’t yet invested in a copy of my own.

  2. I know what you mean about the sunflower seeds. I love them. This sorbet looks delicious. I guess I am going to have to buy another cookbook- I don’t have the Perfect Scoop!

Leave a Reply

