Hey, hey we {heart} monkey bread

monkeybread2

I’ve been wanting to bake monkey bread for awhile. Not out of nostalgia for childhood treats (I’ve never had it!), but rather because it sounded easy to make and very delicious. Plus it’s a variation of the old-fashioned white loaf I made last Sunday out of The Art & Soul of Baking. It’s very easy to make and oh so good. Too good! I couldn’t wait for it to cool before picking off the bread balls and popping them in my mouth. Every time I would walk into the kitchen I would pop off another one.

monkeybread3

Fresh from the oven--see the ooey, gooey wonderfulness?

Monkey Bread

Adapted from The Art & Soul of Baking
  • 1 recipe old-fashioned white bread (enough for one standard loaf)
  • 1/2 cup of unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar (I used C & H Baker’s sugar)
  • 4 teaspoons cinnamon

Once the bread dough finishes it’s first rise, remove it from the bowl and punch it down firmly to remove all gas bubbles. Use a pastry scraper to break off small pieces about the size of a large fresh cherry. Roll into balls. Cover with plastic or cloth until you finish the next steps. Melt butter and place in small bowl until it is cool enough to touch. Mix sugar and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Spray or butter a standard size loaf pan.

Dip balls into butter and then roll in cinnamon sugar. Place in loaf pan in one layer before starting on the next layer. Once all the balls are in pan, lightly press the top layer to even it out.  Cover with plastic or cloth and proof for 45 to 60 minutes  or until dough is 1 to 1 1/2 inches  beyond the rim of the pan.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Place proofed bread into oven and bake for 40 minutes or until bread is golden brown and internal temperature reaches 200 degrees F on an instant read thermometer. Remove from oven and invert onto a rack to cool.

Try to let it cool a bit before dving in and try not to eat so much that your tummy hurts.😛

monkeybread

10 thoughts on “Hey, hey we {heart} monkey bread

  1. I just read about this in the new Gourmet magazine and saw it at my local Borders. I so wanted to buy it, but after my disastrous kugelhopf, I decided to wait.

    This monkey bread is so tempting! You know it’s good when you are eating a little bit on every visit to the kitchen!

  2. Ooh, that looks yummy. I haven’t had monkey bread in a long time. I’ve been thinking about making it, though, since there was a recipe for chocolate monkey bread on the King Arthur blog a week or two ago…

  3. I like that you used homemade bread dough to make this. I’ve seen recipes that call for frozen bread rolls, but fresh and homemade would be so much better. My recipe that’s somewhat similar is called “bubble buns”. Where do they come up with these names?!

  4. Yum! We love monkey bread here, I haven’t made it in almost a year, looks like I’d better get baking. Thanks for reminding me of a favorite treat, yours looks so delicious all warm and gooey, love it! I didn’t grow up with it but my husband did, although they used the canned biscuit dough. I’ve tried both versions and have to say the one with home made dough it a million times better🙂

Leave a Reply

