{TWD} Lenox Almond Biscotti

Recipe #283

I left home and had a thoroughly relaxing  weekend in the desert. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and the company wonderful. My friend D is expecting her first baby in December and we decided to do a girl’s weekend of sun, spa, and relaxation. The final group was smaller than we planned, but it ended up being perfect.

After dinner on Friday and just the right amount of margaritas and virgin margaritas we decided to run to the grocery store (Bristol Farms) and ended up spending $100 on the ingredients for French toast (plus a couple pints of ice cream and other treats). On Saturday, we spent the day at the spa at the JW Marriott Desert Springs Spa Resort. I’ve been to a lot of spas and this one was great. If you are ever in the Palm Springs/Palm Desert/Rancho Mirage area, I strongly encourage you to check it out. Another great discovery was Zin American Bistro, the restaurant where we went out for dinner that night. I had the “very adult macaroni and cheese” and it was exceptional.

My original plan was to make this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe for this weekend. I had a busy week baking two cakes for two different work celebrations and by the time Friday rolled around I was done baking. I decided to make the Lenox Almond Biscotti, chosen by Gretchen of Canela & Comino, when I returned from my weekend. This was my first time making biscotti. They were super-duper easy to make–if I knew how easy I would have gone ahead and made them on Friday. I used whole-wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and they turned out wonderful. The perfect crunch and flavor. Yum!

36 thoughts on “{TWD} Lenox Almond Biscotti

  1. Your biscotti are so golden and delicious looking. Great idea on the ww pastry flour. I added white whole wheat. Love the description of your weekend, especially the $100 french toast!

  2. Your biscotti (and your teacup) are so pretty. I love the idea of using the whole wheat pastry flour in these. It would give great flavor but wouldn’t be too heavy. Besides, I buy ww pastry flour for a quick bread recipe and don’t always know what to do with the rest of it. Did you use it in of all of the all-purpose, or just part?
    Audrey

  3. Wow, what a fabulous weekend! Your biscotti look perfect! I’ll have to use some WW flour next time — somehow it almost seems like a health food if there is whole wheat in it, doesn’t it?

  4. Im So jealous of your spa trip..fun! I think I like the picture of the trees and the water the best..I had to put up with this snow for three days! It melted today.

    I love your biscotti..wonderful looking!

  5. You make it look so easy peasy! Sheesh! I love the color of your biscotti; pale yellow. Very, very nice. Great job. I didn’t make any this week since I don’t like biscotti . . I baked coconut cupcakes instead. Oh well. See you next week.😉

  6. Your girls’ day sounds wonderful. I have never been to a spa. (believe it or not!)
    The biscotti look great – I love the delicate tea cup in the first picture.

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog! I absolutely love the shot of the stacks of old books at the top of your blog (I’ve got a weakness for used bookstores).
    I would definitely recommend trying lavender in your next batch of biscotti. As for me, I’ll follow your lead and use whole wheat pastry flour. I like the idea of something more wholesome to eat with breakfast.

  8. A spa weekend sounds so tempting … margaritas, French toast, “very adult macaroni and cheese”, great weather, good company, and beautiful surroundings… sigh…

  9. Your biscotti look perfect. Love your tea cup.

    Definitely every woman should go on a spa get-away trip with her girlfriends! Glad you enjoyed your weekend.

Leave a Reply

