{twd} pizza rustica

I have talent. I’ve been told it takes real talent to break your patella (kneecap) and that’s what I did. I fractured and dislocated my right patella. I’d love to tell you I did it rappelling off the side of a mountain while rescuing cute endangered animals or while executing  a bicycle kick to score the winning goal in a soccer match. The truth is I did it by tripping over my own feet while walking my dog.

Yeah. I return to the orthopedist next week for more x-rays and to see if I’m properly healing. I hope so, because I don’t want surgery. I especially don’t want surgery in the weeks before our wedding (6 weeks from Saturday for those counting). Yikes.

On a more happy note, I’m pleased to present this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection: Pizza Rustica. It’s not the kind of pizza I was thinking it would be when I read the title. It’s more of an Italian quiche-like pizza, with a mixed up filling made with eggs, cheese, and in my version sun-dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts. The dough is sweetened and again in my case, baked in 6-inch tartlet pans.

I liked the contrast between the sweet dough and the savory filling, but I know it wasn’t popular with a few of the TWD bakers. Paul liked the taste too, but didn’t like the sun-dried tomatoes. I knew the tomatoes were iffy with him and I thought I was pulling a jar of roasted red peppers out of the pantry. He’s requested I make the recipe again but this time with the prosciutto or regular ham.

You can find the recipe in Dorie Greenspan’s Baking with Julia or at either of the wonderful hosts of this week’s selection:  Emily of Capitol Region Dining and Raelynn of The Place They Call Home.

my fractured patella

53 thoughts on “{twd} pizza rustica

  1. Ouch to the knee! Hope it heals quickly and without surgery!

    Looks like you made a mini pizza rustica. Wish I would have. While it’s good and I don’t mind the sweet crust, it’s all too fattening for me (even though I used low fat ricotta) and others here aren’t eating it. I might have another slice in a day or two, but that’s probably it.

    Fun to try this one though.

  2. Funny, when you said, “I have talent,” I was eyeballing the picture of your mini tart, thinking, she sure does! It’s adorable. So sorry about your knee – here’s to fast and thorough healing.

  3. Slicing the pizza rustica, I was thinking that I could have used the tartlette pans too! Yours look great and I love the bubbly filling! I think that when you use veggies in the filling they kinda break that heaviness of the cheese. I am definitely trying it again with pesto, or butternut squash and sage, or eggplants, sun-dried tomatoes and olives.

  4. Oh no! I am so sorry to hear that. Believe it or not, my sister broke her kneecap last week (she fell). I guess she has talent too :-( I hope your recovery goes well & is speedy.
    I do love that you went the mini tart route with this. Too cute.

  5. Love your Pizza Rustica; it’s lovely! And I hope you heal beautifully. I’m 7 months away from my wedding and would definitely not want surgery now. Good luck in the next six weeks, too. Lots of excitement!! :)

  6. Ouch! I’m sending you non-surgery-needing vibes. I hope it heals quickly!

    Your Pizza Rustica looks delicious, and I love the tartlet idea!

  7. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your knee. :( :( Hope it heals quickly and that you don’t need surgery!! Your mini tarts are so cute, and I *love* the artichoke addition!

  8. Your Pizza Rustica is soooo cute. I LOVE the idea to make them mini. Sorry to hear about your knee! I certainly hope no surgery is necessary before the big day : ).

  9. Your pizza looks great! Such a cute idea to use mini pans. Sorry to hear about your accident, I hope your knee heals up quick! Make sure you’re getting enough calcium, magnesium and vitamins D, C and E – these are essential for bone and tendon/cartilage repair :) Feel better soon!

  10. So sorry to hear about your little accident. I sure hope you get good news when they take x-rays. I love your mini-pizza rustica, it’s so cute. Nice picture of it too. I thought of trying artichokes in mine, but I’d already picked out several other vegetables and didn’t think I should put too many different kinds in.

  11. Oh, I’m so sorry, Wendy! (If it makes you feel any better, I broke my hand tripping on a scenic Boston cobblestone while wearing heels about a month after I moved here…) I hope all goes well — though you might be able to start a new bridal fashion by carrying a cane instead of just another old bouquet… No, I hope not. As always, your version of the recipe looks wonderful!

  12. I was feeling your pain reading about your accident and then got to the part that you are getting married in 6 weeks…oh my! Wishing you speedy healing and recovery!! :) Your mini pizza rustica looks great! I think it might have tasted better in a smaller version like yours.

  13. So sorry about your kneecap!!! That would hurt soooo much. Anyway, your pie is beautiful…more like the traditional shape I see on the web made by traditional cooking Italian grandmothers….except theirs are huge…feeds those large Italian families.

    Hope you are feeling OK…and mend soon.

  14. WHAT?! That sounds terrible! I can’t imagine. And of course, your wedding is coming up. I hope you don’t need surgery! Your pizza rustica is so cute and looks amazing though. I bet you have one of those cool wheels that make your lattice so pretty. Lucky! (well except for the broken knee thing.)

  15. Ugh, I hope your knee heals quickly! I’ve sprained my ankle just walking down a perfectly normal stretch of sidewalk.

    Your little tart looks so cute! We liked this with the prosciutto (okay, except for G), but I’d like to make it again with different stuff in the filling.

  16. I wish you a quickly healing and no pain during the process!
    Your Pizza Rustica looks SO CUTE!
    Thank you for having visited my blog and left a lovely comment.

  17. Happy healing!! (fingers crossed over here!) My hubby had to have knee surgery a few year ago … I think he had an esp bad problem/surgery because he was on his back for quite a while and it seems like he couldn’t put weight on that leg for 6 weeks. No fun!

    Cute little pizza!!

  18. Oh my dear- so sorry about your injury. I was walking my 3 Dachsies last summer & they tripped me up thoroughly! No fractures, but some nice scrapes & bruises. Your little tarts are lovely- beautiful crusts! And congrats on your soon to be wedding- cheers!

  19. I skipped this one because it was a harder recipe to share (and I’m not eating many carbs these days, but anyway)… I wonder if the bakers that didn’t care for the sweetness wouldn’t have minded it with a name change? Something like brunch pot pie or something? Your pizza rustica looks great though!

  20. Your version sounds delicious! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you don’t need surgery, before or after your wedding! Yikes, I hope you’re not limping down the aisle.

  21. Hi,
    I hope you feel better soon. I love the pizza rustica. I like that you used the sweet and savory together. That’s interesting and sounds delicious. I also like the individual tarts used here. So much cuter.

  22. I hope you heal quickly and are not too uncomfortable. The pizza rustica looks wonderful. You did a great job with the challenge. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  23. Ouch, sorry about what happened to your patella. I hope it will be better soon, in time for your wedding! Your pie looks amazing and great idea using tartlets instead of a large pie pan :-)

  24. I would congratulate you on your talent, but it seems that’s maybe not the kind of skill most people want in their life!

    At least these little pizza tarts are adorable. I sat this one out (because I didn’t read the recipe and thought it was actually pizza) but I’m wishing I’d made it because I do enjoy a good quiche. Next time!

    Best wishes for a speedy, pain-free recovery!

  25. Love the mini version of the tarts- great idea. A nice green salad and the mini pizza rustica would be a wonderful 1st course or a light spring meal. Sending healing thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

