Dairy Milk Cupcakes

In pursuit of the perfect English chocolate cupcake, I present to you my third attempt. Although not perfect, I now know the next few tweaks that will get me closer to my goal. The frosting on this version is still the whipped ganache I used for version #2. We really like it. It’s not too sweet and it’s simple: melted chocolate and heavy cream. Unfortunately, I over-whipped this batch.  The base cupcake is Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes with Dairy Milk substitutions. My first attempt at English chocolate cupcakes also used Dorie’s recipe and that has been our favorite over this course.

In the time since baking these, I baked a 4th version using a “perfected” chocolate cupcake recipe I pulled out of Food & Wine magazine  a few years ago and relegated to my magazine stack until now. I am sparing you all not sharing that version because although tasty, it wasn’t close to perfect. Until next time…

Photos by Paulrus
10 thoughts on “Dairy Milk Cupcakes

  1. I admire your perseverance! I think everyone’s definition of the perfect cupcake is a little different so it’s fun to find the one that works for you :)

  2. I love how you piped the frosting. Too bad that the cupcakes weren’t a success, but a candy bar dipped in frosting sounds like a pretty good snack!

  3. It looks so pretty.
    But I can totally understand the quest for that PERFECT outcome. I have one thing that I have been working on all winter and haven’t been able to get the way I want it. But it is gonna happen if its the last thing I do :-)

  4. Dairy Milk is one of those things that make me love living in Canada (that and ketchup chips. Oh and Aero bars). That whipped ganache, seriously, makes me want to bow down in it’s glory. Can’t wait to whip some up (so I can eat the whole bowl and not feel and ounce of shame).

Leave a Reply

